Automotive Repair: A PCL Pathfinder


Automotive repair information can be found in many books and online sources. Whether you are repairing an older vehicle or seeking information on a newer model, the library has many resources that provide wiring diagrams, estimates on the time needed for mechanics to fix the vehicle, and electrical and vacuum diagrams. Materials include books on specific automobiles, books that cover several cars but in less detail, and books about specific auto systems. The titles listed below represent popular manuals that have been published, in some cases, as far back as the early 1900s. During this time, many of the titles have changed or merged. The titles listed below represent the most recent editions. The terms and phrases listed in the subject headings below can be used to search for more materials in the library’s catalog and research databases. If you need further assistance, please ask a librarian.


Quick Jump to:

AUTO REPAIR REFERENCE CENTER (CHILTON'S ONLINE)

REPAIR MANUALS: BOOKS ON MORE THAN ONE AUTOMOBILE

CONSUMER TOTAL CAR CARE MANUALS

QUICK REFERENCE MANUALS

MOTOR INFORMATION SYSTEMS

MITCHELL REPAIR MANUALS

WEB SITES

SUBJECT HEADINGS

RELATED RESEARCH GUIDES

CHILTON Library (VIA MEL.ORG)
top

MeL Databases : ChiltonLibrary : There are thousands of year, make, and model combinations covering the most popular vehicles of the past 30 years, plus additional coverage of specialty models. ChiltonLibrary.com gives you the confidence to service or repair virtually any system on your vehicle.

REPAIR MANUALS: BOOKS ON MORE THAN ONE AUTOMOBILE
top

[NOTE: see also Web Sites]

Auto Upkeep: Basic Car Care, Maintenance, and Repair / Michael E. Gray and Linda E. Gray.--New Windsor, MD : Rolling Hills Pub, 2007. 629.2872 GRA

Chilton’s Auto Repair Manual, 1974–present. ISSN: 00693634. REF 629.28 CHI

Chilton’s Import Car Repair Manual, 1977–present. ISSN: 10442456. REF 629.28 CHI
Chilton’s SUV Repair Manual (prior to 1998 included in title below).

Chilton’s Truck and Van Repair Manual, 1980–present. ISSN: 07420315. REF 629.28 CHI

Smart Buyer's Guide to Buying or Leasing a Car / Rik Paul and David Champion.--Yonkers, NY : Consumers Union, 2005. 629.222 PAU

QUICK REFERENCE MANUALS
top

Provides coverage on repair and maintenance, adjustments and diagnostic procedures for specific systems and components.

Chilton's specifications and maintenance Intervals, 1990-2000 : covers cars, trucks, vans and SUVs / executive editor, Kevin M.G. Maher.-- West Chester, PA : W G Nichols Pub, 2000. REF 629.28 CHI

Chilton's timing belts service manual, 1980-2000.-- West Chester, PA : W G Nichols Pub, 2000. REF 629.28 CHI

Chilton's powertrain code & oxygen sensor service manual.-- Shop ed.-- West Chester, PA : Chilton, c1999. REF 629.28 CHI

Chilton's brake system diagnosis and repair / executive editor, Kevin M.G. Maher ; schematics editor, Christopher G. Ritchie ; editor, Richard J. Rivele.-- West Chester, PA : W.G. Nichols, c1998. REF 629.28 CHI



WEB SITES
top

MeL Databases : ChiltonLibrary : There are thousands of year, make, and model combinations covering the most popular vehicles of the past 30 years, plus additional coverage of specialty models. ChiltonLibrary.com gives you the confidence to service or repair virtually any system on your vehicle.

CarCare.org
http://www.carcare.org
Provides descriptions of auto parts, parts finder, and useful, car care articles.

Car Talk
www.cartalk.com
The web site of the popular NPR radio show has lots of helpful information for shopping for a good mechanic, and do-it-yourself auto repair.

SUBJECT HEADINGS
top automobiles—air conditioning—maintenance and repair
automobiles—electric wiring
automobiles—repair and maintenance
automobiles—transmission devices, automatic—maintenance and repair
automobiles, foreign—motors—maintenance and repair
trucks, foreign—motors—maintenance and repair
RELATED RESEARCH GUIDES
top

Buying a Car



last updated: November 7, 2008
http://www.parchmentlibrary.org
Questions or comments about this website: webmaster@parchmentlibrary.org