h
 

Business Plans : A PCL Pathfinder


A business plan defines your business and identifies goals. Many times it is required when applying for business loans. A business plan should answer the following questions: what service or product does your business provide and what needs does it fill, who are the potential customers and how will you reach them, and where will you get the financial resources to start your business? The materials listed below will help you get started. The terms and phrases listed in the subject headings below can be used to search for more materials in the library's catalog and research databases. If you need further assistance, please ask a librarian.


Quick Jump to: GUIDES AND HANDBOOKS |MARKET ANALYSIS | INDUSTRY ANALYSIS | FINANCIAL PLANNING | LOCAL RESOURCES | WEB SITES | SUBJECT HEADINGS | RELATED RESEARCH GUIDES
GUIDES AND HANDBOOKS
top

Anatomy of a Business Plan: A Step-by-step Guide to Building a Business and Securing your Company's Future, 5th ed. by Linda Pinson. Chicago: Dearborn Trade, 2001. ISBN: 0793146003. 658.4012 PIN
Provides a step-by-step process for developing a polished, professional, and results-oriented plan.

Business Plans Handbook, 10th ed. Detroit: Gale Research, 2004. ISBN: 0787664855
Includes sample business plans and templates from various industries. Business plans include type of business; statement of purpose; executive summary; business/industry description; market; product and production; management/personnel; and financial specifics. 658.4 BUS

How to really create a successful business plan : featuring the business plans of Pizza Hut, Software Publishing Corp., Celestial Seasonings, Ben & Jerry's / David E. Gumpert.-- 3rd ed.-- Boston, MA : Inc. Pub, c1996. 658.4 GUM

How to Write a Business Plan, 6th ed. by Mike P. McKeever. Berkeley, CA: Nolo Press, 2002. ISBN: 0873378636. 658.1522 MCK
Instructions on making realistic financial projections, developing effective marketing strategies, and refining your overall business goals.

The Successful business plan : secrets & strategies / by Rhonda M. Abrams.-- 2nd ed.-- Grants Pass, OR : Oasis Press/PSI Research, c1993. 658.4012 ABR

Your First Business Plan: A Simple Question and Answer Format Designed to Help You Write Your Own Plan, 4th ed. by Joseph A. Covello and Brian J. Hazelgren. Naperville, IL: Sourcebooks, 2002. ISBN: 1402200021. 658.4012 COV
Instructional guidelines for those writing their first business plan.

MARKET ANALYSIS
top

Market Share Reporter: An Annual Compilation of Reported Market Share Data on Companies, Products, and Services. Detroit: Gale Research, 1991– . Annual. ISSN: 10529578.
Provides an overview of companies, products, and services. Each entry features a descriptive title; data and market description; a list of producers/products along with their market share.
[NOTE: We do not own this title. You may find it at the Waldo Library at WMU

World Market Share Reporter: A Compilation of Reported World Market Share Data and Rankings on Companies Products and Services, 5th ed. Detroit: Gale Research, 2001– . Biennial. ISBN: 0787656585.
Includes 1,670 entries which cover 360 geographic locations. Provides world market share data and rankings on companies, products, and services.
[NOTE: We do not own this title. You may find it at the Waldo Library at WMU

INDUSTRY ANALYSIS
top

Encyclopedia of American Industries, 4th ed. Detroit: Gale Research, 2004. ISBN: 0787690635.
Includes industry description and statistical data for service and non-manufacturing industries (vol. 1) and manufacturing industries (vol. 2).
[NOTE: We do not own this title. You may find it at the Kalamazoo Public Library, the Portage District Library, and at the Waldo Library at WMU.

Standard and Poor's Industry Surveys. New York: Standard & Poor's, 2002– . Quarterly. ISSN: 01964666.
Includes industry profiles and trends, key industry ratios and statistics. A comparative company analysis lists revenues, net income, profit ratios, balance sheet ratios, equity ratios, and per-share data.
[NOTE: We do not own this title. You may find it at the Portage District Library and at the Waldo Library at WMU.

U.S. Industry & Trade Outlook. New York: DRI/McGraw-Hill; Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Commerce and the International Trade Administration, 2000– . Annual.
Includes historical data on shipments, imports, exports, employment, industry trends, technology, international competition, forecasts, trade patterns, and major country markets.
[NOTE: We do not own this title. You may find it at the Kalamazoo Public Library, the Portage District Library, and at the Waldo Library at WMU.

FINANCIAL PLANNING
top

Annual Statement Studies: Financial Ratio Benchmarks and Annual Statement Studies: Industry Default Probabilities and Cash Flow Measures. Philadelphia: Robert Morris Associates, 1923– . Annual.
Provides financial ratios on over 600 industries. For a definition of ratios see www.rmahq.org/Ann_Studies/ss_faq.html .
[NOTE: We do not own this title. You may find it at the Kalamazoo Public Library, the Portage District Library, and at the Waldo Library at WMU.

Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios. Murray Hill, NJ: Dun & Bradstreet. Annual. ISSN: 87552396.
Contains industry balance sheet and income statement information with ratios organized by SIC codes.
[NOTE: We do not own this title. You may find it at the Kalamazoo Public Library, and at the Waldo Library at WMU.

LOCAL RESOURCES
top

Kalamazoo Public Library Business Collection
http://www.kpl.gov
The Kalamazoo Public Library has a large selection of reference and circulating materials to assist business owners and those seeking to start their own business.

Michigan Small Business & Technology Development Center
www.misbtdc.org/region 11

Kalamazoo College
L. Lee Stryker Center
1327 Academy Street
Kalamazoo, MI 49006-3200
Phone: 269.337.7350
Fax 269.337.7352

Provides counseling, training, research, and advocacy for new ventures, existing small businesses and innovative technology companies.

Northside Economic Potential Group (NPEG)
http://www.nsepg.org

526 North Burdick Street
Kalamazoo, MI 49007
Phone: (269) 342-5655
Fax: (269) 342-6035

NEPG is an organization that was founded in the early 1990's by a group of civic and religious leaders who wanted to address the steady decline in population and neighborhood-based retail business in the Northside Neighborhood of Kalamazoo.

NEPG's mission is to restore economic vitality to the northside of Kalamazoo by providing training, economic and technical assistance to new and existing businesses, entrepreneurs and the self-employed. They offer training courses as well as micro-lending to graduates of their training courses.

Portage District Library Business Information Center
http://www.portagelibrary.info/BusinessCenter/Homepage.htm

300 Library Lane
Portage, MI 49002
Phone: (269) 329-4544

Procurement Technical Assistance Centers of Michigan
http://michigantac.org

Region 7: Mike Black & Janice Campbell
Southwest Michigan First
4717 Campus Drive
Kalamazoo, MI 49008
(269) 372-3941 Mike, (269) 372-3942 Janice
(269) 353-5569 fax

The Procurement Technical Assistance Centers (PTACs) of Michigan are not-for-profit organizations funded by the Defense Logistics Agency (DLA), the Michigan Economic Development Corporation (MEDC) and local funding partners. The PTACs support our national security by ensuring a broad base of capable suppliers for the defense industry and other agencies, thereby increasing competition, which supports better products and services at lower costs. The mission of the Procurement Technical Assistance Centers (PTACs) of Michigan is to enhance national defense and economic development of the State of Michigan by assisting Michigan businesses in obtaining and performing on federal, state and local government contracts.

SCORE (Service Corps of Retired Executives)
http://www.scorekazoo.org

Phone: (269) 381-5382
Volunteers who provide free business counseling.

Southwest Michigan First
http://www.southwestmichiganfirst.com

Southwest Michigan First is an economic development organization providing business development, retention and attraction programs throughout Kalamazoo County. Southwest Michigan First provides entrepreneurs and established companies with a wide range of corporate business development services and support.

WEB SITES

top

Economic Census 2002 | 1997
www.census.gov/econ/census02/
www.census.gov/epcd/www/econ97.html
Provides a detailed portrait of the U.S. economy once every 5 years. Data can be used to gauge the competition, calculate market share, locate business markets, assist in site location, design sales territories, and set sales quotas.

United States Small Business Administration
www.sba.gov/starting_business/planning/basic.html
Provides a sample outline of a business plan including links to sample plans.

SUBJECT HEADINGS
top business planning
industries—United States—forecasting
market share—statistics
marketing—statistics
new business enterprises—finance
new business enterprises—planning
proposal writing in business
small business—planning
RELATED RESEARCH GUIDES
top

Business Resources
Company Information
Demographics
Forms
Legal Information
Patents
Small Business



last updated: July 24, 2008
http://www.parchmentlibrary.org
Questions or comments about this website: webmaster@parchmentlibrary.org