Business Resources: A PCL Pathfinder


This guide includes Federal, State, and Local resources of interest to business. The terms and phrases listed in the subject headings below can be used to search for more materials in the library's catalog and research databases. If you need further assistance, please ask a librarian.


Quick Jump to: FEDERAL RESOURCES | STATE RESOURCES | LOCAL RESOURCES | MAGAZINES | ORGANIZATIONS | SUBJECT HEADINGS | RELATED RESEARCH GUIDES
FEDERAL RESOURCES
top

This data was found in the SBC Southeastern Michigan 2004-2005 Business to Business Yellow Pages / Ameritech Publishing, Inc., c2004.

Bureau of Economic Analysis
http://www.bea.gov
202-606-9900
The Bureau of Economic Analysis prepares the regional, national and international accounts of the United States, including estimates of the gross domestic product.

Bureau of Labor Statistics
http://www.bls.gov
202-691-5200
The Bureau of Labor Statistics compiles a variety of data for economic indicators, including the Consumer Price Index, producer prices, compensation and benefits, and productivity, unemployment and employment statistics.

Census Data
http://www.census.gov
301-763-2422
Business locations, population characteristics and other census data is available by calling or visiting the web site.

Copyright Office
http://www.loc.gov/copyright
Forms: (202) 707-9100 (not toll-free)
Information, forms, and publications regarding United States Copyright laws.

Economic and Statistics Administration
http://www.esa.doc.gov
312-353-7706
The Economic and Statistics Administration collects, analyzes and publishes economic and social data, including the Economic Bulletin Board and the National Trade Data Bank.

EPA Small Business Ombudsman
http://www.epa.gov/sbo
800-368-5888
The Small Business Ombudsman provides information about federal environmental regulations and serves as the small business liaison.

Governmental Publications
http://bookstore.gpo.gov
202-512-1800 or 866-512-1800
Governmental Publications provides copies of public laws and government booklets.

Hazardous Waste
http://www.epa.gov/ebtpages/wasthazardouswaste.html
800-424-9346
Information on the hazardous water law and the proper disposal of hazardous waste is available.

International Trade Administration Public Affairs
http://www.ita.doc.gov
800-USA-TRADE (800-872-8723) (Trade Information Center)
The International Trade Administration provides programs and services that help AMerican companies get started in exporting.

Minority Business Development Agency (MBDA)
http://www.mbda.gov
202-482-5061
The Minority Business Development Agency provides marketing, financial, technical and management assistance to the nation's minority businesses through business development centers, minority business trade organizations and MBDA research and field offices.

National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
http://www.nist.gov
301-975-6478
The National Institute of Standards and Technology strengthens U.S. industries' competitiveness, advances science and engineering and improves public health and safety.

Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA)
http://www.osha.gov
312-353-2220 and 517-327-0904
Regional Office:
230 South Dearborn Street, Room 3244
Chicago, Illinois 60604
(312) 353-2220
(312) 353-7774 FAX
Lansing Area Office
U.S. Department of Labor
Occupational Safety and Health Administration
315 West Allegan
Room 207
Lansing, Michigan 48933
(517) 487-4996
(517) 487-4997 FAX

OSHA's mission is to assure the safety and health of America's workers by setting and enforcing standards; providing training, outreach, and education; establishing partnerships; and encouraging continual improvement in workplace safety and health.

Office of Business Liaison
http://www.osec.doc.gov/obl/default.htm
202-482-1360
The Office of Business Liaison provides community businesses with a proactive outreach program and arranges regular meetings and briefings with departmental officials on programs and resources.

Office of Small and Disadvantaged Business Utilization (OSDBU)
http://www.commerce.gov/osdbu
202-482-1472
The Office of Small and Disadvantaged Business Utilization advocates the use of small, minority and women-owned businesses to fulfill the Department of Commerce procurement requirements.

Patent and Trademark Office (PTO)
http://www.uspto.gov
800-786-9199
The Patent and Trademark Office administers the nation's patent and trademark laws.

Pending Legislation
http://www.clerkweb.house.gov
202-225-1772
The House of Representatives and the Senate provide information on the status of federal legislation.

Posters required in the workplace (Federal) (see also "Posters" in State below)
http://www.dol.gov/osbp/sbrefa/poster/matrix.htm

Summary of federally required workplace posters.

Small Business Administration
http://www.sba.gov
The most comprehensive government web site for small business information.

Social Security Administration
http://www.ssa.gov

Information about the Social Security Administration, their services to employers (including a guide to wage reporting for employers), and information about being self-employed.

Tax Publications
http://www.irs.gov
800-TAX-FORM (800-829-3676)
The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) provides business tax forms and booklets explaining the tax code.

Trade Information Center
http://www.export.gov/tic
800-USA-TRADE (800-872-8723)
The Trade Information Center is a one-stop shop for U.S. firms that offers information regarding federal exporting assistance programs and guidance through the export process.

Wage and Hour Law Division
http://www.dol.gov
866-487-9243 or 202-693-0072
Information on the rules of overtime pay, minimum wage and compensation time is available. Call for details on child labor laws.

United States Small Business Administration (SBA)
http://www.sba.gov/mi
313-226-6075
The SBA helps people start and stay in business by providing small firms with loan guarantees, free business counseling, low-cost training and government contracting assistance. In addition, the SBA acts as an advocate for small business interests.

STATE RESOURCES
top

Automotive Repair Licensing
http://www.michigan.gov/sos/0,1607,7-127-49534_50301_50319---,00.html
888-767-6424 (License information) or 800-292-4204 (consumer complaints on repair facilities)

The Secretary of State offers information on dealers, mechanics and repair facilities.

Business and Development Expansion Services
http://www.michiganadvantage.org/?link=RightNav
888-522-0103

Information on creating or expanding a business, including site location assistance, work force issues and solutions to state government problems, is available through the Michigan Economic Development Corporation.

Chambers of Commerce
http://www.michamber.com
517-371-2100

The Michigan Chamber of Commerce offers updated lists of area chambers of commerce.

Civil Rights
http://www.michigan.gov/mdcr
(517) 335-3165

Information on compliance with Civil Rights laws.

Construction Codes and Fire Safety
http://www.michigan.gov/cis/0,1607,7-154-10575---,00.html
517-241-9313

The dedicated staff of the Bureau of Construction Codes and Fire Safety (BCCFS) work as a team to assure that the built environment and the systems within are sound, safe and sanitary; building users' health, safety and welfare are protected; and that, through a coordinated program of prevention, code compliance, investigation and training, there is consistent application of standards.

Corporate Division, Bureau of Commercial Services
http://www.michigan.gov/dleg/0,1607,7-154-35299---,00.html
517-241-6470

The Corporation Division promotes economic development and growth by facilitating the formation of business entities in Michigan. The Division provides services that enable corporations, limited partnerships, limited liability companies, and limited liability partnerships to be formed, and for foreign entities to obtain a certificate of authority to transact business.

Department of Labor and Economic Growth
http://michigan.gov/dleg
(517) 373-1820

DLEG Mission Statement: Grow Michigan by promoting economic and workforce development, stimulating job creation and enhancing the quality of life in Michigan.

E-mail and Telephone Contacts for Department of Labor and Economic Growth
http://www.michigan.gov/dleg/0,1607,7-154-10603-42245--,00.html

Forms & Publications, Department of Labor and Economic Growth
http://www.michigan.gov/dleg/0,1607,7-154-35299_36737---,00.html

Online forms and publications for the Corporate, Licensing, and Enforcement Divisions of the Bureau of Commercial Services.

Licensing, Department of Labor and Economic Growth
http://www.michigan.gov/dleg/0,1607,7-154-35299_35414-120804--,00.html

The Licensing Division is responsible for determining eligibility for examination and licensure, monitoring licensee's compliance with continuing education requirements, and providing administrative support to the boards and oversees administration of examinations to those professions that have an examination requirement.

Michigan Commission on Disability Concerns
320 N. Washington Sq., #250
Lansing, MI 48913
(517) 334-8000 (voice/TTY)
1-877-499-6232 (toll free in state only)
(517) 334-6637 (fax)

Michigan Department of Management and Budget
http://www.michigan.gov/dmb

Access to information about doing business with the State of Michigan and the Vendor Registration Form.

Michigan Economic Development Corporation (MEDC)
http://medc.michigan.org
1-888-522-0103

The Michigan Economic Development Corporation is the one-stop business assistance resource for any company already in Michigan or considering a location in the state. Professional account management teams provide free, confidential help in the areas of:

  • attracting new business to Michigan
  • keeping business in Michigan
  • information on Michigan and its industries
  • site location selection
  • business incentives
  • financial assistance
  • employee recruitment and training
  • permit assistance
  • coordination of site development,
  • resources and services

Michigan Occupational Safety and Health Administration (MIOSHA)
http://www.michigan.gov/cis/0,1607,7-154-11407---,00.html
(517) 322-1814

The mission of the Michigan Occupational Safety and Health Administration (MIOSHA) is to help assure the safety and health of Michigan workers.

Starting a Business in Michigan
http://ref.michigan.org/medc/services/startups/
(877) 873-4567

"We hope you find the Guide to Starting a Small Business (Guide) helpful. The MI-SBTDC, in partnership with the MEDC, assists over 13,500 small businesses annually. The Guide is information that has been gathered from various entities interested in seeing your start-up become a success. "

Taxes : Michigan Department of Treasury
http://www.michigan.gov/treasury
Business Tax Registration: (517) 636-4660
Business tax forms: 800-367-6263

Forms to register for Michigan business taxes, i.e. Sales, Use & Withholding, and Single Business Tax.

Trademark Registration
http://www.michigan.gov/dleg/0,1607,7-154-35299_35413_35431---,00.html
(517) 241-6400

Trademarks and service marks adopted and used in Michigan are registered with the Bureau of Commercial Services, Corporation Division, of the Department of Consumer and Industry Services. The registration fee is $50 and is in effect for ten years.
Trademarks and service marks may also be registered for use throughout the United States with the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office at (800) 786-9199 or online here: http://www.uspto.gov/main/trademarks.htm.

Unemployment Insurance Agency
http://www.michigan.gov/uia

Employer Customer Relations hotline, 1-800-638-3994
8 a.m. to 5 p.m. weekdays

Claimant Customer Relations hotline, 1-800-638-3995
7 a.m. to 7 p.m. weekdays

The UIA's Web site allows unemployed workers to apply for unemployment benefits. It also has information about using the telephone to apply for benefits, and about a program in which employers may file claims on behalf of their employees during mass layoffs. Also available on line are: important forms and publications for unemployed workers and employers; Agency contact information; an FAQ section; details about Agency programs and services; and information about Michigan's unemployment insurance system.

Workers Compensation
http://www.michigan.gov/wca
1-888-396-5041

The mission of the Workers' Compensation Agency is to efficiently administer the Workers' Disability Compensation Act of Michigan, which includes carrier and employer compliance, timely benefit payments, and the prompt and fair adjudication of claims involving Michigan's injured workers.

LOCAL RESOURCES
top

Kalamazoo Public Library Business Collection
http://www.kpl.gov
The Kalamazoo Public Library has a large selection of reference and circulating materials to assist business owners and those seeking to start their own business.

Michigan Small Business & Technology Development Center
www.misbtdc.org/region 11

Kalamazoo College
L. Lee Stryker Center
1327 Academy Street
Kalamazoo, MI 49006-3200
Phone: 269.337.7350
Fax 269.337.7352

Provides counseling, training, research, and advocacy for new ventures, existing small businesses and innovative technology companies.

Northside Economic Potential Group (NPEG)

526 North Burdick Street
Kalamazoo, MI 49007
Phone: (269) 342-5655
Fax: (269) 342-6035

NEPG is an organization that was founded in the early 1990's by a group of civic and religious leaders who wanted to address the steady decline in population and neighborhood-based retail business in the Northside Neighborhood of Kalamazoo.

NEPG's mission is to restore economic vitality to the northside of Kalamazoo by providing training, economic and technical assistance to new and existing businesses, entrepreneurs and the self-employed. They offer training courses as well as micro-lending to graduates of their training courses.

Portage District Library Business Information Center
http://www.portagelibrary.info/BusinessCenter/Homepage.htm

300 Library Lane
Portage, MI 49002
Phone: (269) 329-4544

Procurement Technical Assistance Centers of Michigan
http://michigantac.org

Region 7: Mike Black & Janice Campbell
Southwest Michigan First
4717 Campus Drive
Kalamazoo, MI 49008
(269) 372-3941 Mike, (269) 372-3942 Janice
(269) 353-5569 fax

The Procurement Technical Assistance Centers (PTACs) of Michigan are not-for-profit organizations funded by the Defense Logistics Agency (DLA), the Michigan Economic Development Corporation (MEDC) and local funding partners. The PTACs support our national security by ensuring a broad base of capable suppliers for the defense industry and other agencies, thereby increasing competition, which supports better products and services at lower costs. The mission of the Procurement Technical Assistance Centers (PTACs) of Michigan is to enhance national defense and economic development of the State of Michigan by assisting Michigan businesses in obtaining and performing on federal, state and local government contracts.

SCORE Kalamazoo
http://www.scorekazoo.org
Phone: (269) 381-5382

SCORE "Counselors to America's Small Business" is the best source of free and confidential small business advice to help you build your business—from idea to start-up to success. The SCORE Association, headquartered in Washington, D.C., is a nonprofit association dedicated to entrepreneurial education and the formation, growth and success of small businesses nationwide.

SCORE's extensive, national network of 10,500 retired and working volunteers are experienced entrepreneurs and corporate managers/executives. These volunteers provide free business counseling and advice as a public service to all types of businesses, in all stages of development. SCORE is a resource partner with the U.S. Small Business Administration .

Southwest Michigan First
http://www.southwestmichiganfirst.com

Southwest Michigan First is an economic development organization providing business development, retention and attraction programs throughout Kalamazoo County. Southwest Michigan First provides entrepreneurs and established companies with a wide range of corporate business development services and support.

MAGAZINES (for a complete list of our magazines, click here)
top

Barrons
http://www.barrons.com
Edited to contain in-depth analyses of how the capital markets impact on the future of business and government. Articles point out industrial developments and investment opportunities affecting the businessperson, the money manager, the investor, the advocate, and the consumer. Each issue contains corporate evaluations, financial columns, and a complete listing of economic indicators and market results.

Better Investing
It is a monthly how-to magazine for people who want to learn how to become successful lifelong investors. It comes complete with investment principles to follow, tools to use to help find good companies at good prices, and even a support group - a community of other investors ready and willing to help you in your efforts to become a better investor.

Business Week
http://www.businessweek.com/
The world's most widely read business magazine, BusinessWeek is a vital resource for nearly 5.6 million readers worldwide who require insightful coverage and commentary to stay ahead of their competition. More up to date than the bi-weeklies, more thoughtful than the dailies, BusinessWeek takes readers inside critical business issues to give professionals the insight, information, and inspiration they need to make smarter decisions about business, finance, and their lives and careers.

Economist
http://www.economist.com
A weekly news and business publication written for top business decision-makers and opinion leaders who need a wide range of information and views on world events. It explores the close ties between domestic and international issues, business, finance, current affairs, science and technology. Published in London, England.

Enterprise. Kalamazoo Chamber of Commerce. Monthly.
http://www.kazoochamber.com
A monthly magazine for and about business in Southwest Michigan, which contains articles of interest to local entrepreneurs, and listings of area business seminars, training, and meetings. The Chamber's mission is "To help members grow and prosper through leadership, programs and services focused on competitiveness, community improvement and regional cooperation."

Fast Company
http://www.fastcompany.com
Since 1995, Fast Company has been an informative and vital voice of the changing business industry. The monthly magazine is a beacon to new industries, especially those tied to the Internet, but offers more. Inside are smart attitudes and information that give entrepreneurs and business professionals the particulars of leadership and organization, no matter what the trade. Find key ingredients of working in teams or read a candid interview with the leaders of today's leading-edge companies. The magazine also offers practical business tools and tactics, from must-have gadgets to how to handle voluminous amounts of e-mail. Ideas come from Wall Street, Silicon Valley, Harvard, and even Las Vegas. The magazine dubbed the entrepreneurship and consulting movement "Free-Agent Nation," and overnight became the bible for those working for themselves. --Doug Thomas for Amazon.com

Forbes
http://www.forbes.com/
The hard-hitting journalism that you have come to expect from America's leading business magazine. Read more about Technology, Money & Investing, Market Trends, Portfolio Strategy, Entrepreneurs and Forbes Life. Supplements: FYI (quarterly)

Inc.: The Magazine for Growing Companies. Boston: United Marine, 1979– . Monthly.
http://www.inc.com
Delivers advice, tools, and services, to help business owners and CEOs start, run, and grow their businesses more successfully.

Mi Biz Southwest. Muskegon (Mich.): 1988- . Bi-monthly.
http://www.mibiz.com
Founded in 2001 by its editor/publisher, William R. Lowry, MiBizSouthwest today presents readers with an in-depth snapshot of the business scene throughout Southwest Michigan 26 times a year.

Smart Money
http://www.smartmoney.com
Smart Money is a personal business magazine edited for discriminating investors, featuring practical and imaginative ideas for investing, spending, and saving. Articles and features provide action-oriented information on investment opportunities and pitfalls. Editorial asks tough questions about the big names and big businesses that affect important personal business decisions.

Western Michigan Business Review
http://mbusinessreview.com
A "business to business" weekly paper, which examines how manufacturing, banking, construction, commercial real estate and other industries affect business in western Michigan.

ORGANIZATIONS
top

National Association for the Self Employed (NASE)
www.nase.org
Provides a broad range of benefits and support for self-employed and micro-businesses (up to ten employees).

Service Corps of Retired Executives (SCORE)
www.score.org
Nonprofit association funded by the SBA and dedicated to providing entrepreneurs with free, confidential face-to-face and e-mail business counseling.

Small Business Council of America (SBCA)
www.sbca.net
National organization representing the federal income and estate tax, pension, and other benefit interests of privately held and family owned businesses.
Kalamazoo contact: (269) 381-5382.

U.S. Small Business Administration
www.sbaonline.sba.gov
Its mission is to maintain and strengthen the nation's economy by aiding, counseling, assisting, and protecting the interests of small businesses and by helping families and businesses recover from national disasters.

SUBJECT HEADINGS
top business enterprises—United States—finance—statistics
business planning—United States—handbooks, manuals, etc.
financial statements—United States—statistics—periodicals
self-employed—periodicals
small business—information services—United States
small business—United States—bibliography
small business—United States—handbooks, manuals, etc.
small business investment companies—directories
venture capital—directories
RELATED RESEARCH GUIDES
top

Business Plans
Demographics
Finding Forms
Job Hunting & Careers
Legal Information
Patents
Small Business



last updated: November 7, 2008
http://www.parchmentlibrary.org
Questions or comments about this website: webmaster@parchmentlibrary.org