Company Information: A PCL Pathfinder

Researchers often search for company information by characteristics such as amount of employees or sales, geographic location, industry category. They may also have a variety of reasons to locate companies such as employment opportunities or leads generation. Researchers will find it more difficult to locate information about private companies simply because they are not required to report various filings with the Securities Exchange Commission; however, there are some sources that list privately held companies, as well as information that can be found on a company's Web site, article searches, local business press, or Secretary of State filings. The terms and phrases listed in the subject headings below can be used to search for more materials in the library's catalog and research databases. If you need further assistance, please ask a librarian.


Quick Jump to: DIRECTORIES |RANKINGS AND LISTS | TELEPHONE DIRECTORIES | LOCAL RESOURCES | SUBJECT HEADINGS | RELATED RESEARCH GUIDES
DIRECTORIES
top

Hoover's Handbook of American Business 2004, 14th ed. Austin, TX: Hoover's Business Press, 2003. Annual. ISBN: 1573110884.
Two-volume set contains in-depth profiles of 750 of America's largest and most influential companies. Examines the personalities, events, and strategies that have made these enterprises leaders in their fields.
[NOTE: We do not own this item. You may find it at the Kalamazoo Public Library , the Portage District Library , and the Waldo Library at WMU.

Hoover's Handbook of Emerging Companies 2003, 10th ed. Austin, TX: Hoover's Business Press, 2003. Annual. ISBN: 1573110833.
Covers selected U.S. public companies with sales between $10 million and $1 billion, at least 3 years of reported sales, at least a 30% rate of sales growth during that time, and positive net income for their most recent fiscal year.
[NOTE: We do not own this item. You may find it at the Kalamazoo Public Library, the Portage District Library and the Waldo Library at WMU.

Hoover's Handbook of Private Companies, 9th ed. Austin, TX: Hoover's Business Press, 2004. Biennial. ISBN: 1573110906.
Covers 900 nonpublic U.S. enterprises including large industrial and service corporations, hospitals and health care organizations, charitable and membership organizations, mutual and cooperative organizations, joint ventures, government-owned corporations, and major university systems.
[NOTE: We do not own this item. You may find it at the Kalamazoo Public Library, Portage District Library , and the Waldo Library at WMU.

Hoover's Handbook of World Business, 10th ed. Austin, TX: Hoover's Business Press, 2004– . Annual. ISBN: 1573110892.
In-depth profiles of 300 of the most influential firms from Canada, Europe, and Japan, as well as companies from the fast-growing economies of such countries as China, India, and Taiwan.
[NOTE: We do not own this item. You may find it at the Kalamazoo Public Library , the Portage District Library, and the Waldo Library at WMU.

Mergent Industrial Manual. New York: Mergent FIS, 1909– . Annual. ISSN: 15400832.
Covers 2,000 top industrial corporations. Includes history, business, properties, subsidiaries, officers, directors, long-term debt, capital stock, letter to shareholders, notes to financial statements, and financial data.
[NOTE: We do not own this item. You may find it at the Kalamazoo Public Library , the Portage District Library, and the Waldo Library at WMU.

Standard & Poor's Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives. New York, Standard & Poor's, 1973– . Annual. ISSN: 03613623.
A principal source for company identification indexed by industrial code, geographical location, and by executive and directors' names.
[NOTE: We do not own this item. You may find it at the Kalamazoo Public Library, and the Waldo Library at WMU.

RANKINGS AND LISTS
top

Fast Companies Database
http://fcke.fastcompany.com
World’s most interesting and innovative companies.

Scoreboards, BusinessWeek
www.businessweek.com/common/tools.htm
Provides interactive lists that rank companies by certain investment variables.

TELEPHONE DIRECTORIES
top

Many directories include search by person's or company's name, yellow page heading, or reverse telephone number. These directories may provide postal addresses, telephone numbers and e-mail addresses for people.

411locate: www.411locate.com
AnyWho online Directory: www.anywho.com
Infobel Worldwide Directories: www.infobel.com/teldir/
InfoSpace: www.infospace.com
InfoUSA: www.infousa.com (see Free Yellow Pages)
International Directories, WhitePages.com: www.whitepages.com/intl_sites.pl
The Ultimates: www.theultimates.com

LOCAL RESOURCES
top

 

SUBJECT HEADINGS
top business enterprises—directories
business enterprises—(name of state)—directories
commerce—(name of country)—directory
commerce—directories
corporations—directories
corporations—(name of country)—directories
corporations—(name of country)—finance—directories
corporations—(name of country)—rankings—directories
directors of corporations—directories
financial management—(name of country)—directory
industries—states—directories
industries—(name of country)—directories
industry—(name of country)—directory
manufactures—(name of state)—directories
manufacturing industries—(name of state)—directories
service industries—(name of state)—directories
RELATED RESEARCH GUIDES
top

For Job-Seekers:
College Search
Job Hunting & Careers
Resumes & Cover Letters

For Entreprenuers:
Business Plans
Business Resources
Demographics
Small Business


last updated: July 24, 2008
http://www.parchmentlibrary.org
Questions or comments about this website: webmaster@parchmentlibrary.org