Consumer Information: A PCL Pathfinders

This guide is designed to help consumers locate information on the value, pricing, and reliability of goods and services with a focus on consumer advocacy. There are specific headings devoted to higher profile issues in this area such as Children's Products, Automobiles, and Health. Though the main focus of this guide is on items and services that can be purchased in the United States , some links may lead to resources outside of the U.S. The terms and phrases listed in the subject headings below can be used to search for more materials in the library's catalog and research databases. If you need further assistance, please ask a librarian.


Quick Jump to:

GENERAL ONLINE SOURCES

GOVERNMENT SOURCES

AUTOMOBILES

MAGAZINES

LOCAL RESOURCES

SUBJECT HEADINGS

RELATED RESEARCH GUIDES

GENERAL ONLINE SOURCES
top

Better Business Bureau (United States and Canada)
www.bbb.org
Provides information on business and consumer alerts, instructs consumers about how to file a complaint online, and includes a directory of BBBs.

Consumer Alert
www.consumeralert.org
Consumer advocacy organization that generates several e-newsletters for free including Consumer Comments, CPSC Monitor, and On the Plate .

ConsumerReview.com
www.consumerreview.com
Free Web site that offers product reviews written by consumers. Searchable and browsable.

ConsumerWorld.org
www.consumerworld.org
Searchable Web site that provides access to hundreds of consumer resources on the Internet. It is categorized according to “hot” consumer topics, such as credit card information, mortgage rates, and travel.

GOVERNMENT SOURCES
top

Federal Citizen Information Center (FCIC)
www.pueblo.gsa.gov
One-stop shopping center for federal consumer publications. Their Web site provides a wealth of information on consumer issues, including the Consumer Action Handbook (revised annually) and other FCIC publications.

Federal Trade Commission for the Consumer
http://www.ftc.gov/bcp/consumer.shtm
Provides consumer protection information on such topics as lending, automobiles, advertising, children's issues, products and services, energy and the environment, travel, seniors, and many more.

FirstGov for Consumers
www.consumer.gov
Directory to government-generated, consumer information with the following categories: Food, Product Safety, Health, Home and Community, Money, Transportation, Children, Careers and Education, Technology, and Miscellaneous.

U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission
www.cpsc.gov
An Independent Federal Regulatory Agency with a primary focus on family safety. The agency works with industry to develop product standards and bans products where there are no standards, but high risk. Look here for important information on product recalls.

The U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission provides two major reports relating to kids and toys:

Toy Hazard Recalls
www.cpsc.gov/cpscpub/prerel/category/toy.html
Toy recalls are listed in reverse chronological order. Sponsored by the U.S. Product Safety Commission.

Toy Safety Publications
www.cpsc.gov/cpscpub/pubs/toy_sfy.html
This Web site provides safety tips on specific toys and general information about selecting appropriate toys for children.

AUTOMOBILES
top

Automobile Pricing and Performance
Edmund.com: www.edmunds.com
Kelley Blue Book: www.kbb.com
NADA Official Used Car Guide: www.nadaguides.com

CARFAX
www.carfax.com
Offers vehicle history report for a fee.

National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
http://www.nhtsa.dot.gov/portal/site/nhtsa/menuitem.bead436724af02e770f6df1020008a0c/
Includes categories on Safety Problems and Issues, Testing Results, Regulations and Standards, and Research and Development.

National Lemon Law Center
www.nationallemonlawcenter.com
Provides state by state Lemon Law information for used cars and also has a consumer product lawyer locator.

MAGAZINES
top

Consumers Digest
Consumer Guide
Consumer Reports
Consumer Reports Newsletter on Health
Consumer Reports Newsletter on Travel

LOCAL RESOURCES
top

Better Business Bureau of Western Michigan
http://www.grandrapids.bbb.org/
The Better Business Bureau provides instant access to business and consumer alerts as well as helpful resources. Plus, you can file a complaint online and more.

Gryphon Place Dispute Resolution Services
http://www.gryphon.org/DisputeResolutionServices.html
Dispute Resolution Programs established to provide an alternative means of resolving disputes both in and out of court, as well as in neighborhoods, businesses, and schools. A variety of specialty mediation services are tailored to meet the growing needs of our changing communities. A sliding fee scale allows access to mediation services for all citizens. For more information, call 1-800-873-7658 or (269) 552-3434

Kalamazoo Area Chamber of Commerce
http://www.kazoochamber.com
1-800-530-9192

Michigan Attorney General - Consumer Protection Division
http://www.michigan.gov/ag
1-877-765-8388

Helps resolve consumer complaints, files consumer protection litigation; proposes new legislation; literature and educational programs.

To file a complaint: Online at www.michigan.gov/ag, or in writing to P.O. Box 30213 Lansing MI 48909 or fax to 1-517-241-3771. Consumers interested in receiving electronic mail notification of Attorney General Consumer Alerts, press releases, or formal opinions can sign up on the Attorney General's home page under "Join the AG Mailing Lists."

SUBJECT HEADINGS
top consumer advocacy
consumer education
consumer information
consumer protection
RELATED RESEARCH GUIDES
top

Automobile Repair
Buying a Car


last updated: November 7, 2008
http://www.parchmentlibrary.org
Questions or comments about this website: webmaster@parchmentlibrary.org