online DATABASES AVAILABLE AT THE PARCHMENT LIBRARY

 

You may access these databases from library computers, or you may access them remotely from any computer with Internet access.

For remote access, you'll need a Parchment Community Library card.

If you have an older library card, the barcode number on the back may not be a six-digit number beginning with "7." If you have one of these older cards, you'll need to get a new one in order to access these databases -- just ask at the front desk.

If you have trouble accessing or using these databases, please call us at 343-7747 or e-mail us at ref@parchmentlibrary.org


Quick Jump to:

Auto Repair Reference Center
Curriculum Resource Center
Curriculum Resource Center : Junior ed.
Eldercare
NoveList
NoveList K-8

Personal & Business Forms Online

Reference USA

Michigan e-Library


AUTO REPAIR REFERENCE CENTER (chilton's online)
top

This is the online version of the Chilton's Auto Repair manuals. It includes repair specs and diagrams for all makes, models, and years. Now you can find the car repair info you need, even when the library is closed.

You must have a Parchment Community Library card in order to access this database from home.

 

CURRICULUM RESOURCE CENTER
top

CURRICULUM RESOURCE CENTER

Curriculum Resource Center is an electronic library of printable teacher-handout material for the middle, high school, and junior college curriculum. Its expansive collection of reproducible handouts, many of which are PDF files, is conveniently arranged by subject (e.g., history, government, religion, geography, science, math, health and fitness) and can be saved, e-mailed, printed, or distributed for educational purposes. This is a great resource for teachers, parents, and students alike.

Click HERE for a tip sheet to get you started using the Curriculum Resource Center.

You must have a Parchment Community Library card in order to access this database from home.

 

CURRICULUM RESOURE CENTER : JUNIOR EDITION
top

CURRICULUM RESOURCE CENTER : JUNIOR EDITION

Curriculum Resource Center: Junior Edition is an electronic library of printable teacher handouts. Curriculum Resource Center: Junior Edition 's expansive collection of reproducible handouts, many of which are PDF files, is conveniently arranged by type of resource (e.g., maps, timelines, science diagrams) and can be saved, e-mailed, printed, or distributed for educational purposes. Biographies, events, maps, timelines, science projects, even career ideas -- perfect for teachers, homeschoolers and students.

Click HERE for a tip sheet to get you started using the Curriculum Resource Center : Junior Edition.

You must have a Parchment Community Library card in order to access this database from home.

 

ELDERCARE
top

ELDERCARE (Care Scout)

will help you locate and evaluate care options for the elderly. Nursing homes, assisted living facilities, Home health care and hospice care are included. You may search for facilities nationwide, including their quality ratings. This site also offers helpful information for evaluating and choosing care options, paying for care, insurance, dealing with Alzheimers, and more.

You must have a Parchment Community Library card in order to access this database from home.

 

NOVELIST
top

NoveList

If you love to read, you'll love NoveList! With over 125,000 titles in the database, NoveList goes far beyond basic book reviews and bibliographies. You can search by author, title, character, setting, plot, and reading or grade level. You can look for "read-alikes;" books which are similar to those by your favorite author. You can browse hundreds of booklists on a wide range of topics. NoveList is one of the most powerful tools for readers available -- give it a try!

You must have a Parchment Community Library card in order to access this database from home.

 

NOVELIST K-8
top

NoveList K-8

Find books that younger readers will love -- search by author, title, character, setting, plot, and reading or grade level. Users can also browse hundreds of theme-oriented book lists for readers at all grade levels through Explore Fiction, and look for award-winning and recommended titles in Best Fiction. Great titles to read aloud can be found in the Browse Lists section. Many title records have direct links to Web sites with information about the author or with teacher resource materials.

You must have a Parchment Community Library card in order to access this database from home.

 

PERSONAL AND BUSINESS FORMS ONLINE
top

PERSONAL & BUSINESS FORMS

This is a one-stop source for all sorts of forms -- government, business, personal, and tax. All forms are in PDF format, and can be viewed using Acrobat Reader (which is a free download -- for more about Acrobat Reader, click here).

You must have a Parchment Community Library card in order to access this database from home.

 

REFERENCE USA
top

Reference USA contains 5 directories we can access -- USA Residental ; USA Business; Canadian Residential; Canadian Business; and USA Health Care (doctors and dentists).

You must have a Parchment Community Library card in order to access this database from home.

 

michigan e-library
top

The Michigan eLibrary (MeL) is an anywhere, anytime library for Michigan.

MeL resources, available via the MeL Gateway. include the following:

- a statewide catalog, interlibrary loan, and delivery service. This does not include all the libraries in the state.
MeL Databases - commercial databases purchased by the Library of Michigan for all Michigan residents. You may log on at your school or library, or you may log on at home using any Michigan drivers license number. Click the "log on in your library or school" or the "log on at home or work" links.
MeL Michigana - a growing selection of digitized resources including manuscripts, realia, and other objects.
MeL Internet - a collection of Internet links organized by subject and selected by librarians who are experts in their topic areas.

MeL is one of the best-kept secrets in Michigan -- help us spread the word about this wonderful resource!

 


last updated: August 21, 2008
http://www.parchmentlibrary.org
Questions or comments about this website: webmaster@parchmentlibrary.org