Education: A PCL Pathfinder

Those seeking information on the latest teaching techniques or support of curriculum development will find a great starting point for their research using the materials listed below. Information such as educational concepts, special education, trends, and issues in education are readily available to educators and students. The terms and phrases listed in the subject headings below can be used to search for more materials in the library's catalog and research databases. If you need further assistance, please ask a librarian.

More help can be found by going to Related Research Guides, which list other Pathfinders you may find useful, including Homeschooling and Homework Help.


Quick Jump to: | NOVELIST | MAGAZINES | WEB SITES | SUBJECT HEADINGS | RELATED RESEARCH GUIDES
NOVELIST
top


If you love to read, you'll love NoveList! With over 125,000 titles in the database, NoveList goes far beyond basic book reviews and bibliographies. You can search by author, title, character, setting, plot, and reading or grade level. You can look for "read-alikes;" books which are similar to those by your favorite author. You can browse hundreds of booklists on a wide range of topics. NoveList is one of the most powerful tools for readers available -- give it a try!

Go to MeL Databases to go to NoveList. If you're not using a library computer, you'll need a Michigan driver license number in order to access NoveList from home or work.

MAGAZINES
top

Babybug (Children's Area)
Babybug begins a lifelong love of books for infants and toddlers 6 months to 2 years. For babies who love to be read to and parents who love to read to them. It's filled with colorful pictures, simple rhymes, and stories that babies and parents will delight in reading together over and over again.

Family Fun (Adult Area)
http://familyfun.go.com/
Familyfun, a magazine for parents with children ages three to twelve, is an idea book for all the exciting things families can do together.

Kids Discover
http://www.kidsdiscover.com/
Kids Discover is a beautiful commercial-free magazine that helps children ages 6 and up to become involved, interested, and to understand. Kids Discover satisfies their natural curiosity, and makes it fun to learn about our world!

Ladybug
Ladybug opens the door to reading for kids ages 2 - 6. Every page of Ladybug is beautiful, colorful, and a delight to read. Each issue is filled with charming characters, activities, songs, poems, and stories.

Michigan History for Kids
http://www.michiganhistorymagazine.com/kids/index.html
Michigan History for Kids is a 24-page, colorful quarterly magazine that covers topics like sports, lumbering, the Civil War and the Upper Peninsula.

National Geographic Kids
http://www.nationalgeographic.com/ngkids/
A colorful monthly magazine created especially for curious kids. Novelty and hands-on learning make a winning combination that has captivated nearly one million readers for more than 20 years. Features encourage its readers to protect the planet.

Owl
http://www.owlkids.com/owl/
OWL is loaded with fascinating articles and amazing facts for 9 to 13 yr olds. Each issue includes science behind how things work, quizzes, contests, and topics on everyday life. With breaking news stories and mind-boggling puzzles, it's a thought-provoking, entertaining place for kids to grow.

Practical Homeschooling
http://www.home-school.com/
Practical Homeschooling will bring you up to date on everything from preschool and reading to college prep. In-depth reviews and annual Awards for best products. Expert columnists, including Bill & Mary Pride. Plus, success stories, inspiration & contests with prizes!

Preschool Playroom
Where Bear in the Big Blue House, Spot, Maisy, Mr. Potato Head, Paddington Bear and Peter Rabbit make learning fun. Perfect for preschoolers, each issue contains drawing, matching, counting, coloring and reading activities. A character poster, plus a 6 page pull-out workbook, are also included.

Ranger Rick
http://www.nwf.org/kidzone/kzPage.cfm?siteId=3
Ranger Rick is for children ages 7 and up. Each issue is packed full with amazing facts, stunning photos and outdoor adventures that help kids sharpen reading skills and develop a deeper appreciation for nature and the natural sciences. A Parent's Choice Gold Award recipient in 1999.

Spider
(no web site available)
SPIDER magazine is a children's magazine filled with fun stories, poems, and activities perfectly pitched for newly independent readers and learners. It's specially written and edited for children who have reached that amazing age when they first get excited about reading on their own.

Turtle
http://www.cbhi.org/magazines/turtle/
Turtle Magazine features colorful and entertaining stories and poems, perfect for reading aloud. Hidden pictures, dot-to-dots, and mazes challenge young minds. Easy recipes teach kids kitchen skills and nutrition facts. Ask Dr. Cory features the latest health information for parents and teachers.

Zoobooks
http://www.zoobooks.com/
Simply written and beautifully illustrated. Each monthly issue "captures" one of 60 different animals through magnificent photography, illustrations, diagrams, descriptions and includes interactive activity pages. Kids get "up close and personal" with the world's most amazing creatures.

WEB SITES

top

General Education Sites:

The Educator’s Reference Desk
www.eduref.org
Provides links to useful Web sites with information about citation styles, links to directories, government resources, law, intellectual freedom, libraries, mass media, school rankings, and statistics.

ERIC Database
http://www.mel.org
Provides access to resources in education through citations from 1966 through April 2004 and ERIC Journal citations from 1966 through March 2004 including full-text materials. Click the "MeL Databases" link, then select ERIC from the list of databases. You may be required to enter a Michigan drivers license number to log in.

ERIC Digests
www.ericdigests.org
Contains short reports on topics of current interest in education.

Michigan Department of Education
http://www.michigan.gov/mde
600 W Allegan St., Hannah Building
Lansing, MI 48909
Ph. (5170 373-3324

Michigan Educator's Resources
http://mer.mel.org/
A wealth of resources for teachers.

National Center for Education Statistics
http://nces.ed.gov
Federal agency that collects and analyzes data related to education in the United States and other countries.

TeachNet
http://www.teachnet.com/
Lesson plans, tools, and ideas for teachers.


Resources for teaching children with special needs:

Cause Online
http://www.causeonline.org/
Assistance for those who work with special needs children.

Laureate Learning Systems
http://www.laureatelearning.net/professionals602/index.html
Software designed by speech-language pathologists and special educators to help students with special needs gain critical cognitive, language, and reading skills.

Mindplay
http://www.mindplay.com/
Educational software for special needs learners. Includes free downloads of games and shareware.

Recording for the Blind and Dyslexic
http://www.rfbd.org/
Offers recorded textbooks for the visually or learning disabled.

SUBJECT HEADINGS
top

education
education--parent participation
educational technology
home schooling
instructional materials
teaching materials

RELATED RESEARCH GUIDES
top

College Search
Homework Help
Homeschooling
Magazines
Test Preparation


last updated: October 31, 2008
http://www.parchmentlibrary.org
Questions or comments about this website: webmaster@parchmentlibrary.org