Elections: A PCL Pathfinder

Quick Jump to:

REFERENCE BOOKS

REGISTER TO VOTE

CANDIDATES AND ISSUES

ELECTION INFORMATION

ELECTION NEWS IN THE MEDIA

ELECTION LAWS AND FINANCE

ELECTION AND VOTING SYSTEM REFORM

SUBJECT HEADINGS

RELATED RESEARCH GUIDES

REFERENCE BOOKS
top

Choosing the president 2008 : a citizen's guide to the electoral process / League of Women Voters.
324.63 CHO

The United States election system / edited by Paul McCaffrey.-- New York : Wilson, 2004. ISBN 0824210360.
324 UNI

REGISTER TO VOTE
top

Elections in Michigan
From the Michigan Secretary of State's office. Complete information on how to register to vote, where to vote, past election results and upcoming election candidates and issues.

Frequently Asked Questions About Elections.
From the Kalamazoo County Clerk/Register's Office. Answers to the most frequently asked questions about how to register to vote, where to register, and where to vote.

Voter Information Center
From the Election Assistance Commission. Includes information on how to register, finding your congressional district, laws for polling places, and much more.

CANDIDATES AND ISSUES
top

Elections 2008
The University of Michigan's Document Center has, as usual, created an astonishingly thorough web page with links to everything you might want to know about the 2008 elections. It has links to candidates, public opinion polls, Michigan ballot proposals, national issues, voter registration, and prior election results (to name a few!). What's new this year is a section on election forecasting and free Presidential election results by Congressional District.

Citizens Research Council of Michigan
A source of factual, unbiased independent information on significant issues concerning state and local government organization and finance. Click the "Ballot Issues" link to see information on current referenda.

Democratic National Committee
Official Web site of the National Democratic Party. States all have their own committees.

Elections in Michigan
Michigan Secretary of State's office. Complete information on how to register to vote, where to vote, past election results and upcoming election candidates and issues.

League of Women Voters
A nonpartisan political organization that urges the informed and active input of citizens and works to increase understanding of major public policy issues.

League of Women Voters of Michigan
Covers elections affecting the entire state of Michigan. You can locate a local league using this website by following the MI Local Leagues link.

National Republican Party
Official Web site of the National Republican Party. Each state has additional Web sites on a regional basis.

Project Vote Smart
Nonpartisan source of information and analysis of candidates, issues, and ballot measures. Includes biographical information about office holders and candidates.

Vote Help
VoteHelp is a nonpartisan candidate calculator that tracks the main politicians' stands on important issues. Answer a series of questions on current issues and see how the candidates' opinions match yours.

ELECTION INFORMATION

top

The 30 Second Candidate
An overview of political commercials organized on a time line.

Election Information
Office of the Clerk, U.S. House of Representatives. Provides official federal election vote counts, as far back as 1920.

Elections in Michigan
Michigan Secretary of State's office. Complete information on how to register to vote, where to vote, past election results and upcoming election candidates and issues.

Elections - The American Way
Library of Congress. A concise explanation of the election process. Includes information on the candidates, party system, issues, and more.

Electoral College
Who really understands how the Electoral College works? Turns out the good people at the National Archives have figured it out, and they've created a nifty web site to explain it all to the rest of us. Don't miss the Electoral Calculator. Also offers a nice list of teaching resources.

United States Election Project
Provides timely and accurate election statistics, electoral laws, research reports, and other useful information regarding the United States electoral system.

United States Elections : Guide to the 2008 Elections
The U.S. Department of State provides an introductory overview of the American electoral process, and information on national and state elections.

ELECTION NEWS IN THE MEDIA

top

AP Delegate Tracker
Latest information on the Republican and Democratic primaries presented in an easy-to-read format.

BBC
U.S. Elections 2008

C-SPAN
Provides coverage of politics and elections, including video footage of speeches and advertisements, a calendar of campaign events, and links to the Web sites of the major candidates.

CBS
Campaign 2008 coverage

CNN
Election 2008 coverage

FOX
America's Election HQ

MSNBC
2008 Primary results

National Public Radio
Election 2008 coverage

New York Times
Election 2008 coverage

Wall Street Journal
Election 2008 coverage

Yahoo News
Election 2008 coverage

ELECTION LAWS AND FINANCE

top

Federal Election Commission Financial Reports and Data
Find financial disclosure reports from congressional and presidential campaigns, including political parties and political action committees.

FEC Filings from Prospective 2008 Presidential Campaigns
Financial information for each candidate.

Opensecrets
Sponsored by the nonpartisan Center for Responsive Politics, this Web site provides a guide to campaign donations and the role of money in elections

ELECTION AND VOTING SYSTEM REFORM
top Center for Voting and Democracy
A nonpartisan organization that studies how voting systems affect participation, representation and governance.

National Commission on Federal Election Reform
This nonpartisan group was organized to study the federal election system and to recommend ways to improve its fairness and accuracy.
SUBJECT HEADINGS
top elections—United States—encyclopedias
political campaigns—United States—history
political parties—United States—encyclopedias
political parties—United States—platforms—history
presidential candidates—United States—history
presidents—United States—election
RELATED RESEARCH GUIDES
top

Elections for Kids


last updated: July 24, 2008
http://www.parchmentlibrary.org
Questions or comments about this website: webmaster@parchmentlibrary.org