Gardening: A PCL Pathfinder

Finding information on gardening, the practical operations in the cultivation of fruits, vegetables, flowers and ornamental plants, is easier than ever. The resources listed below are works that are not just meant to be consulted for reference, but also to be read and enjoyed by the casual reader with illustrations being an important part of these sources. The topics range from the history of gardening to specific information on plants and their cultivation to garden and landscape planning. This guide introduces researchers to some of the basic informational sources on the topic. The terms and phrases listed in the subject headings below can be used to search for more materials in the library's catalog and research databases. If you need further assistance, please ask a librarian.


Quick Jump to: BOOKS | LOCAL RESOURCES | WEB SITES | SUBJECT HEADINGS | RELATED RESEARCH GUIDES
BOOKS
top

American Horticultural Society Encyclopedia of Gardening by Christopher Brickell. New York: Dorling Kindersley, 2003. ISBN: 0789496534.
Newest revision of this long-standing, comprehensive gardening resource.
REF 635 AME

American Horticultural Society Encyclopedia of Plants and Flowers by Christopher Brickell and Trevor J. Cole. New York: Dorling Kindersley, 2002. ISBN: 0789489937.
Includes great illustrations with sections on plant selection, a plant catalog, and dictionary.
REF 635 AME

The American Horticultural Society Gardening Manual. New York: Dorling Kindersley, 2000. ISBN: 0789459523.
Covers every aspect of gardening from preliminary design to daily maintenance.
635 AME

Annuals for Michigan / Nancy Szerlag, Alison Beck.-- Edmonton : Lone Pine Pub, 2002.
296 p. : col. ill., col. map ; 22 cm.
635.931 SZE

Better Homes and Gardens Complete Guide to Gardening by Marjorie P. Groves. Des Moines: Meredith, 1979. ISBN: 0696000415.
Technical and detailed overview of all aspects of gardening. The 1994 edition is also on CD-ROM.
635 BET

The National Arboretum Book of Outstanding Garden Plants: The Authoritative Guide to Selecting and Growing the Most Beautiful, Durable, and Care-Free Garden Plants in North America by Jacqueline Hériteau and Henry M. Cathey. New York: Simon & Schuster, 1990. ISBN: 0671669575.
This book focuses on selection of the right plant for a specific location.
635.9 HER

New Encyclopedia of Herbs & Their Uses by Deni Bown. New York: Dorling Kindersley, 2001. ISBN: 078948031X.
Definitive A-Z guide to growing herbs around the globe.
REF 635.7 BOW

Rodale's All-New Encyclopedia of Organic Gardening: The Indispensable Resource for Every Gardener by Fern Marshall Bradley and Barbara W. Ellis. Emmaus, PA: Rodale Press, 1992. ISBN: 0878579990.
A basic reference for organic and other gardening with over 400 entries covering composting, xeriscaping, permaculture, and much more.
635.0484 ROD

Tree & shrub gardening for Michigan / Tim Wood, Alison Beck.-- Edmonton : Lone Pine Pub, 2003.
635.977 WOO

LOCAL RESOURCES
top

Parchment Garden Club
Meets the second Friday of each month (except January and February). Meeting locations vary -- call for details.

Contact Sherry Jones (V.P. Membership) at 343-5218 for more information.

Michigan State University - Kalamazoo County Extension
http://www.kalcounty.com/msue
201 W. Kalamazoo Avenue Room 302 Kalamazoo MI 49007
1-269-383-8830; 1-269-384-8057 (Fax)
Email: sue39@msu.edu
Provides information on agriculture; livestock/crops; groundwater; commercial and home horticulture; master gardener program; natural resources to the public.

WEB SITES

top

Burpee Seeds and Plants
www.burpee.com
Seller of specialty seeds and gardening accessories.

The Garden Gate: Into Gardening and Beyond
http://garden-gate.prairienet.org
From Forbes Best of the Web, “This folksy link site earns high marks for its breadth, organization, and helpful annotations.”

Garden Web: The Internet's Garden Community
www.gardenweb.com
Site provides links to a variety of gardening resources including forums, “HortiPlex Plant Database,” calendar of garden events, gardening organizations, glossary of terms, and much more.

GardenGuides
www.gardenguides.com
Features an article index on a variety of gardening topics and links to many other gardening sites and guides. Registration for forums is required but free.

Gardening Launch Pad
www.gardeninglaunchpad.com
Almost 5,000 links to gardening sites with 95% content links not commercial.

HGTV Home & Garden Television
www.hgtv.com/hgtv/gardening/
This well-known television network's site is a comprehensive resource for gardening information.

United States Department of Agriculture: Home Gardening
www.usda.gov/wps/portal/!ut/p/_s.7_0_A/7_0_1OB?navid=GARDENING&parentnav=CONSUMER_CITIZEN&navtype=RT
Links to everything from backyard conservation to the USDA's Vegetable Laboratory.

SUBJECT HEADINGS
top agriculture
gardening
herb gardening
herbs
horticulture
landscape gardening
medicine, herbal
plants, cultivated
plants, medicinal
plants, ornamental
RELATED RESEARCH GUIDES
top

 


last updated: January 25, 2008
http://www.parchmentlibrary.org
Questions or comments about this website: webmaster@parchmentlibrary.org