Federal Government Information: A PCL Pathfinder

Under General Information below, you will find links to federal government information, including contacting the White House and our Michigan representatives to Congress. Under Statistical Information, you will find links to some of the most commonly-used federal statistical sources. Below you will find a list of the most frequently requested federal government publications organized by topic and branch of government. The terms and phrases listed in the subject headings below can be used to search for more materials in the library's catalog and research databases. If you need further assistance, please ask a librarian.


Quick Jump to:

GENERAL INFORMATION

STATISTICAL INFORMATION

EXECUTIVE BRANCH DOCUMENTS

 

LEGISLATIVE BRANCH DOCUMENTS

JUDICIAL BRANCH DOCUMENTS

LOCAL RESOURCES

SUBJECT HEADINGS

RELATED RESEARCH GUIDES

GENERAL INFORMATION

top

FirstGov : The U.S. Government's Official Web Portal
http://www.firstgov.gov/
The official gateway to all federal government information. Searches all government web sites.

Contacting the White House
http://www.whitehouse.gov/contact

Mailing Address

The White House
1600 Pennsylvania Avenue
Washington, DC 20500

Phone Numbers

Comments : 202-456-1111
Switchboard: 202-456-1414
Fax: 202-456-2461
TTY for Hearing Impaired Only : Comments : 202-456-6213
TTY for Hearing Impaired Only: Visitors Office : 202-456-2121

E-Mail Addresses

President: president@whitehouse.gov
Vice President: vice.president@whitehouse.gov


MICHIGAN SENATORS :

Sen. Carl Levin (D-MI)
http://www.levin.senate.gov

E-mail: http://levin.senate.gov/contact/index.cfm

Washington Office:
269 Russell Senate Office Building
Washington, D.C. 20510-2202
Phone: 202 224-6221
Fax: 202 224-1388

Main District Office:
477 Michigan Avenue
Detroit, MI 48226
Phone: 313 226-6020
Fax 313 226 6948

Sen. Debbie Stabenow (D-MI)
http://www.stabenow.senate.gov

E-mail: http://stabenow.senate.gov/email.htm

Washington Office:
702 Hart Senate Office Building
Washington, D.C. 20510-2204
Phone: 202 224-4822
Fax: 202-228=0325

Main District office:
280 E. Saginaw Highway
East Lansing, MI 48823
Phone: 517 203-1760
Fax: 517 203-1778

MICHIGAN REPRESENTATIVE, 6TH DISTRICT

Rep. Fred Upton (R-MI 6th)
http://www.house.gov/upton

E-mail: http://www.house.gov/writerep/

Washington Office:
2161 Rayburn House Office Building
Washington, D.C. 20515-2206
Phone: 202 225-3761
Fax: 202 225-4986

Main District Office:
157 S. Kalamazoo Mall, #180
Kalamazoo, MI 49007
Phone: 269 385-0039
Fax: 269 385-2888

STATISTICAL INFORMATION

top

County and City Data Book. United States. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Commerce, Bureau of the Census. 1949– . ISSN: 00829455.
www.census.gov/statab/www/ccdb.html
Including statistics for all U.S. counties, cities of 25,000 or more population, and places with more than 2,500 inhabitants. Useful for both business and school projects. Population, housing, business, and labor force data are featured.

Statistical Abstract of the United States. United States. Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1878– . ISSN: 00814741.
http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/
Statistics describing social, economic, political, and geographic changes in the United States.

Uniform Crime Reports: Crime in the US
www.fbi.gov/ucr/ucr.htm
Provides detailed statistical information about crimes as reported to the FBI.

United States Census
www.census.gov
The ten-year census required by law provides massive amounts of population, housing, economic, and geographic data. The economic census, as well as other kinds of statistical data, also is found here.

World Fact Book
www.cia.gov/cia/publications/factbook/index.html
The Factbook is a comprehensive resource of facts and statistics on more than 250 countries.

EXECUTIVE BRANCH DOCUMENTS

top

Budget of the U.S. Government
www.gpoaccess.gov/usbudget/
Provides information on how the federal government spends money, from A Citizens Guide to the Federal Budget , written for the average reader, to extensive economic and historical analyses of the United States budget.

Code of Federal Regulations
www.gpoaccess.gov/cfr/index.html
The CFR contains administrative regulations, issued by federal agencies or presidential executive order, which are arranged by subject and published annually. Weekly updates are found in the Federal Register.

Federal Register
www.gpoaccess.gov/fr/index.html
Daily publication that presents final regulations as they are enacted, proposed rules, notices, and presidential documents. The same information is organized by subject and published annually in the Code of Federal Regulations.

Public Papers of the President
www.gpoaccess.gov/pubpapers/index.html
Papers and speeches of the President of the United States that were issued by the Office of the Press Secretary during the specified time period.

United States Government Manual
www.gpoaccess.gov/gmanual/index.html
Manual provides information on the agencies of the three branches of government.

Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents
www.gpoaccess.gov/wcomp/index.html
The Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents is published every Monday by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration and contains statements, messages, and other presidential materials released by the White House during the preceding week.

LEGISLATIVE BRANCH DOCUMENTS

top

Congressional Directory
www.gpoaccess.gov/cdirectory/index.html
Staff directory for the legislative, executive, and judicial agencies of the federal government. It features brief biographies, committee memberships, and addresses and phone numbers for staff members and judicial branches.

Legislative Branch Resources on GPO Access
www.gpoaccess.gov/legislative.html
History of bills, Congressional bills, Congressional record, full-text versions of all signed bills, and more.

Public and Private Laws
www.gpoaccess.gov/plaws/index.html
Public and private laws are prepared and published by the Office of the Federal Register (OFR), National Archives and Records Administration (NARA). GPO Access contains the text of public and private laws enacted from the 104th Congress to the present.

United States Code
www.gpoaccess.gov/uscode/index.html
The United States Code is the permanent, or public, laws of the United States organized into broad subject areas called titles.

United States Constitution
www.gpoaccess.gov/constitution/index.html
The basic document establishing the government of the United States, the Constitution of the United States also defines the rights and liberties of citizens.

JUDICIAL BRANCH DOCUMENTS

top

Supreme Court Opinions
www.supremecourtus.gov
The Supreme Court of the United States is the final arbiter in controversies or interpretation of the laws of the United States or the intent of the Constitution. Its decisions are called “Opinions.”

LOCAL RESOURCES

top

Consumer Information Catalog
http://www.pueblo.gsa.gov/
Quarterly catalog of free publications available from the federal government. Paper copies are available in the free literature rack in the library's lobby.
 

SUBJECT HEADINGS

top

executive departments—United States—handbooks, manuals, etc.
United States—Congress—joint committee on printing
United States—Congress directories
United States—Office of the Federal Register
United States—politics and government—handbooks, manuals, etc.

top

Community Resources
Local Government Information
State Government Information
 


last updated: April 11, 2008
http://www.parchmentlibrary.org
Questions or comments about this website: webmaster@parchmentlibrary.org