Health and Wellness: A PCL Pathfinder

Knowledge about therapies, medication, remedies, nutrition, and fitness empower patients to make better health and lifestyle decisions. Health information also allows patients to have more meaningful dialogue with their health care providers. The resources below provide a starting point for researchers as they begin to search for health information. The terms and phrases listed in the subject headings below can be used to search for more materials in the library's catalog and research databases. If you need further assistance, please ask a librarian.


Quick Jump to: BOOKS | WEB SITES | SUBJECT HEADINGS | RELATED RESEARCH GUIDES
BOOKS
top

Encyclopedic Guide to Searching and Finding Health Information on the Web, edited by P.F. Anderson and Nancy J. Allee. New York: Neal-Schumann, 2004.
From the Medical Library Association, this is an outstanding 3-volume resource to help researchers focus an Internet search. Includes web sites and search terms for most health issues, diseases and disorders, including mental health.
REF DESK 025.0661 MED

The complete home wellness handbook : home remedies, prevention, self-care / John Edward Swartzberg, Sheldon Margen, and the editors of the UC Berkeley wellness letter.-- New York : Rebus, c2001.
REF 616.024 SWA

The Johns Hopkins medical guide to health after 50 : the latest recommendations from the Hopkins specialists / medical editor, Simeon Margolis ; prepared by the editors of The John Hopkins medical letter health after 50.-- New York : Rebus, c2002.
REF 613.0434 JOH

The Johns Hopkins consumer guide to medical tests : what you can expect, how you should prepare, what your results mean / Simeon Margolis, medical editor.-- New York : Rebus, c2001.
REF 616.075 JOH

The Merck manual of medical information : home edition / Robert Berkow, editor-in-chief ; Mark H. Beers, associate editor ; Andrew J. Fletcher, senior assistant editor ; editorial board, Lawrence K. Altman ... [et al.].-- Whitehouse Station, N.J : Merck Research Laboratories, c1997.
REF 616 MER

The PDR family guide to prescription drugs.-- 6th ed.-- New York : Three Rivers Press, c1998.
REF 615.1 PDR

The Harvard Medical School Family Health Guide. London: Cassell, 2001. ISBN: 0304357197. Also available at www.health.harvard.edu/fhg/
Includes chapters on lifestyle changes that will enhance health, such as nutrition, exercise, smoking cessation, safe sex, eldercare, death and dying, drug interactions, and emergency care.
REF 613 HAR

Wellness foods A to Z : an indispensable guide for health-conscious food lovers / Sheldon Margen and the editors of UC Berkeley wellness letter.-- New York : Rebus, c2002.
REF 613.2 MAR

WEB SITES

top

Healthfinder. Washington, DC: Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
www.healthfinder.gov
Gateway consumer health information Web site from the United States Government.

Medical Encyclopedia (From MedlinePlus)
www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/encyclopedia.html
Access to articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations.

Michigan eLibrary : Health and Wellness Resource Center Database
http://www.mel.org
Select the "MeL Databases" link, and then select "Health and Wellness Resource Center " link from the list of databases. You may need to enter a Michigan drivers license number to log in. Includes a medical encyclopedia, a drug and herb finder, health assessment tools, a medical dictionary, an alternative health encyclopedia, a health organizations directory, links to health-related web sites, and more.

Michigan eLibrary : Health Reference Center Academic
http://www.mel.org
Select the "MeL Internet" link, and then the "Health Reference Center Academic" link. Provides access to professional and personal health magazines, journals and reference sources.

PDRHealth
www.gettingwell.com
Consumer information from the Physicians' Desk Reference about detecting, preventing, and treating a variety of medical conditions. Includes disease overviews, drug information, and clinical trials.

WebMD
www.webmd.com
Includes articles, medical information, doctor and clinic search, health and wellness, and online tools.

SUBJECT HEADINGS
top alternative medicine—handbooks, manuals, etc.
complementary therapies—handbooks
diagnosis—popular works
diet and nutrition
family—health and hygiene
fitness
health—popular works
medicine—popular works
prevention
self-care
smoking cessation
RELATED RESEARCH GUIDES
top

Community Services
Medicare Part D


last updated: October 31, 2008
http://www.parchmentlibrary.org
Questions or comments about this website: webmaster@parchmentlibrary.org