HOLIDAYS : A PCL PATHFINDER

 

Listed below are books, magazines and web sites to assist with preparing for and celebrating Thanksgiving, Christmas, Hannukkah, and Kwanzaa.

The library also has music CDs and movies with holiday themes. Stop in and use our card catalog to see what's available.


QUICK JUMP TO :

Holiday Cooking | Christmas | Hanukkah | Kwanzaa | Ramadan | Thanksgiving |Subject headings

holiday cooking

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

top

COOKING MAGAZINES

For more information on each of these titles, and for links to the websites for each, go to the Magazines pathfinder.

Cooking magazines:

Eating Well
Gourmet
Light & Tasty
Taste of Home's Quick Cooking
Taste of Home
Vegetarian Times
Weight Watchers

Magazines which also contain recipes:

Family Circle
Good Housekeeping
Ladies Home Journal
Real Simple
Redbook
Womans Day

HOLIDAY COOKING WEBSITES

Christmas cookies
http://www.christmas-cookies.com/
Over 400 Christmas cookies recipes.

Christmas recipes from allrecipes.com
http://christmas.allrecipes.com/
Over 1500 recipes, plus menus and party planning ideas.

Hanukkah recipes from the Food Network
http://www.foodnetwork.com/food/et_hd_hanukkah/0,1972,FOOD_9837,00.html
"During Hanukkah, fried foods remind Jewish celebrants of the 2,000-year-old miracle that turned one day's worth of candle oil into the eight days of light. Centuries later, we can recommend latkes, blintzes, and jelly doughnuts to keep you full for eight days straight. " --from the website.

Jewish Holiday Recipes from recipelink.com
http://www.recipelink.com/jewish.html
Recipes for Hanukkah, Passover, and more.

Kwanzaa recipes from the Food Network
http://www.foodnetwork.com/food/et_hd_kwanzaa/article/0,1972,FOOD_9838_1743054,00.html
"From robust chicken stew to a spicy sausage gumbo, our recipes will help you create a feast full of flavor. " --from the website.

Kwanzaa recipes from holidays.net
http://www.holidays.net/kwanzaa/recipes.htm
"
We have included some delicious recipes to help make your Kwanzaa celebration a tasty one. Because Kwanzaa is a "first fruit" or harvest festival, Mazao (the crops) are an important part of the celebration. We have tried to include a good selection of recipes for vegetables and fruits dishes. " --from the website.

Ramadan recipes from holidayspot.com
http://www.theholidayspot.com/ramadan/recipes.htm
Traditional recipes for the evening meal during the month of Ramadan.

Ramadan recipes from submission.org
http://www.submission.org/ramadan/recipes.html
Recipes from around the world.

Thanksgiving menus and recipes
http://www.epicurious.com/cooking/holiday/thanksgiving/menus/
Menus, recipes, and cooking tips for traditional, contemporary, and vegetarian Thanksgiving celebrations from epicurious.com.

Thanksgiving - Turkey
http://www.butterball.com
Everything you ever wanted to know about cooking a turkey from the folks at Butterball.

Thanksgiving - Vegetarian
http://www.vegkitchen.com/thanksgiving.html
Menu and recipes for a vegetarian (vegan-friendly) Thanksgiving feast.

Christmas

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

top

Note: The following are just a few of our Christmas books. Check our card catalog using the Subject Headings listed below to see our complete listing of Christmas books, music, and movies.

Camille Glenn's old-fashioned Christmas cookbook by Camille Glenn. Chapel Hill, NC : Algonquin Books, 1996.
394.26 GLE

Home for the Holidays. Birmingham, Ala. : Southern Living, 2002.
394.26 HOM

300 ways to make the best Christmas ever! : decorations, carols, crafts & recipes for every kind of Christmas tradition by Mimi Tribble. New York : Sterling, 2004.
394.26 TRI

Treasures for the Christmas tree : 101 festive ornaments to make & enjoy. New York : Sterling, 1994.
394.26 TAY

Christmas around the world by Mary D Lankford. New York: Morrow Junior Books, 1995.
J 394.25 LAN

Christmas decorations kids can make by Kathy Ross and Sharon Lane Holm. Brookfield, Conn. : Millbrook Press, 1999.
J 745.5 ROS

Silent Night : A Christmas Carols sampler by Belinda Downes. New York : Knopf, 1995.
J 782.42 SIL

CHRISTMAS WEB SITES

Christmas links from the Librarian's Index to the Internet
http://www.lii.org/pub/htdocs/search?search=christmas;action=show;searchtype=keywords
A selection of websites for all things Christmas -- decorating, food, traditions around the world, Santa Claus, and more.

Christmas.com
http://www.christmas.com
A commercial site with guides for shopping, charitable giving, faith & spirituality, celebration planning, and Christmas around the world.

 

HANUKKAH

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

top

The essential book of Jewish Festival Cooking : 200 Seasonal Holiday recipes and their traditions by Phyllis Glazer. New York : Morrow Cookbooks, 2004.
641.56 GLA

Jewish cooking for dummies by Faye Levy.-- Indianapolis, IN : IDG Books Worldwide, Inc, 2000.
641.5676 LEV

The book of Jewish food : an odyssey from Samarkand to New York by Claudia Roden. New York : Knopf, 1996.
641.5676 ROD

The Hanukkah story by Anita Ganeri. North Mankato, Minn. : Smart Apple Media, 2005.
J 296.4 GAN

Hanukkah crafts by Judith Hoffman Corwin. new York : Franklin Watts, 1996.
J 296.43 COR

Eight days of Hanukkah : a holiday step book by Harriet Ziefert and Melinda Levine. New York : Viking, 1997.
J 296.43 ZIE

HANUKKAH WEB SITES

Hanukkah [Wikipedia encyclopedia]
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hanukkah
Concise history of the holiday and its modern celebration.

Judaism 101 : Chanukkah
http://www.jewfaq.org/holiday7.htm
Information about Hanukkah history and traditions. Includes music, a recipe for latkes, and instructions for the dreidl game.

Hanukkah : Jewish Outreach Institute
http://www.joi.org/celebrate/hanuk/index.shtml
Includes Hanukkah blessings, traditions, history and activities. Also includes the interactive "spin the dreidl" game (which requires Flash v.6).

KWANZAA

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

top

Kwanzaa : an African-American celebration of culture and cooking by Eric V. Copage. New York : Morrow, 1991.
641.592 COP

Fruits of the harvest : recipes to celebrate Kwanzaa and other holidays by Eric V. Copage. New York : Amistad, 2005.
641.56 COP

The children's book of Kwanzaa : a guide to celebrating the holiday by Dolores Johnson. New York : Atheneum Books for Youn Readers, 1996.
J 394.26 JOH

Kwanzaa karamu : cooking and crafts for a Kwanzaa feast by April A. Brady and Barbara Knutson. Minneapolis : Carolrhoda Books, 1995.
J 641.59 BRA

Seven days of Kwanzaa by Ella Brier and John Ward. New York : Viking, 1997.
J 394.26 GRI

KWANZAA WEB SITES

Kwanzaa
http://www.globalindex.com/kwanzaa/
Includes traditions, color, and rituals of Kwanzaa.

Official Kwanzaa Website
http://officialkwanzaawebsite.org/
An authoritative source which gives an accurate and expansive account of Kwanzaa's origins, concepts, values, symbols and practice.

Children's activities for Kwanzaa
http://www.kidsdomain.com/holiday/kwanzaa/
Includes clip art, coloring pages, music, online games, and more.

RAMADAN

 

 

 

top

Celebrating Ramadan : Ramadan al-muazzam / by Diane Hoyt-Goldsmith ; photographs by Lawrence Migdale.-- New York : Holiday House, 2001.
J 297.62 HOY

Ramadan / Suhaib Hamid Ghazi ; illustrated by Omar Rayyan.-- 1st ed.-- New York : Holiday House, c1996.
J 297.36 GHA

RAMADAN WEB SITES

Ramadan on holidays.net
http://www.holidays.net/ramadan/
The story of Ramadan, the story of the prophet Mohammad, information on the Muslim faith and an Islamic calendar.

Ramadan on holidayspot.com
http://www.theholidayspot.com/ramadan/index.htm
Ramadan traditions, recipes, and crafts.

Ramadan activities for children
http://www.submission.org/YES/child2.html
Crafts, stories and songs to help children understand and celebrate Ramadan.

THANKSGIVING

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

top

Note: The following are just a few of our Thanksgiving books. Check our card catalog using the Subject Headings listed below to see our complete listing of Thanksgiving books, music, and movies.

Thanksgiving : an American holiday, and American history by Diana Karter Appelbaum. New York : Facts on File, 1984.
394.2683 APP

Thanksgiving 101 : celebrate America's favorite holiday with America's Thanksgiving expert by Rick Rodgers. New York : Broadway Books, 1998.
394.2683 ROD

The story of the first Thanksgiving by Elaine Raphael and Don Bolognese. New York : Scholastic, 1991.
J 394.26 RAP

Thanksgiving fun by Ronne Randall and Annabel Spenceley. New York : Kingfisher Books, 1994.
J 745.59 RAN

Thanksgiving Day at our house : Thanksgiving poems for the very young by Nancy Carlstrom and R.W. Alley. New York, Simon & Schuster, 1999.
J 811 CAR

THANKSGIVING WEB SITES

Thanksgiving links (history, cookery, more) from the Librarian's Index to the Internet
http://www.lii.org/pub/htdocs/search?search=thanksgiving;action=show;searchtype=keywords
This is a list of excellent Thanksgiving websites chosen by the professional researchers at Librarian's Index to the Internet (www.lii.org), and includes Thanksgiving history and lore, and traditional and vegetarian recipes.

Thanksgiving Traditions
http://www.thanksgiving-traditions.com/
Nicely presented information on the history of the holiday, plus food, traditions, and the Canadian Thanksgiving.

Plimoth Plantation
http://www.plimoth.org/
The web site of Plimoth Plantation, Massachusetts, a "living museum which depicts Plymouth as it was in the 17th century. A virtual tour is available, as well as the history of the settlement, traditional recipes, and an online activity, "You Are The Historian -- Investigating The First Thanksgiving."

Thanksgiving [Scholastic]
http://teacher.scholastic.com/thanksgiving/
A rich resource for teachers and students. Includes a picture timeline for 1620-1621, a virtual voyage on the Mayflower, "interviews" with the Plymouth colonists, a Thankgiving cyber-challenge, and "Research Starters" -- articles about the Plymouth colonists, Native Americans, and the first Thanksgiving.

SUBJECT HEADINGS

top

Christmas [keyword]
Christmas cookery
Christmas customs
Christmas decorations
Christmas films [includes VHS & DVD]
Christmas music [includes CDs]

Hanukkah
Cookery, Jewish

Kwanzaa

Thanksgiving Day


last updated: January 25, 2008
http://www.parchmentlibrary.org
Questions or comments about this website: webmaster@parchmentlibrary.org