HOMESCHOOLING: A PCL Pathfinder

According to the National Home Education Research Institute, there are over 2,000,000 homeschooled children in the USA, and this number is growing by 7% per year. If you are currently homeschooling or are considering it, here are some resources that you'll find useful. The terms and phrases listed in the subject headings below can be used to search for more materials in the library's catalog and research databases. If you need further assistance, please ask a librarian.

More help can be found by going to Related Research Guides, which list other Pathfinders you may find useful.


Quick Jump to: HOMESCHOOLING ASSOCIATIONS | WEB SITES | NOVELIST | BOOKS | MAGAZINES | SUBJECT HEADINGS | RELATED RESEARCH GUIDES
homeschooling associations, organizations & laws
top

Kalamazoo Area Home School Association
http://www.kahsaconnection.com/
This organization supports local homeschooling families with information and events, and hosts a variety of support groups, which include:

HOPE : Homeschoolers of Otsego, Plainwell, Etc.
KEEP: Kalamazoo Eastside Enrichment Program
MOTHS: Mothers of Teenage Home Schoolers
OASIS: Supporting homeschool families in Southwest Michigan
VASE: Van Buren & Allegan Supporting Each other
Teen Civics: Assisting teens in learning about and participating in government.

American Homeschool Association
http://www.americanhomeschoolassociation.org/index.html
Current AHA services include an online news and discussion list which provides news, information, and resources for homeschoolers, media contacts, and education officials.

Information Network for Christian Homes (INCH)
http://www.inch.org
Since 1984 INCH's mission has been to serve families interested or involved in home education by providing the information, resources and encouragement needed to teach their children at home in the state of Michigan, and to work to ensure the continued freedom to do so.

Michigan Department of Education
http://www.michigan.gov/mde
600 W Allegan St., Hannah Building
Lansing, MI 48909
Ph. (5170 373-3324

Nonpublic and Home Schools Unit
http://www.michigan.gov/mde/0,1607,7-140-6530_6564_35175---,00.html
Information from the Michigan government for Michigan homeschooling families.


WEB SITES

top

Homeschooling Curriculum Services and Resources:

Brighter Vision Learning Adventures
http://brightervision.com/
Products that help parents help their children prepare for a successful school experience and develop a love of learning. Includes offer of free materials.

Clonlara Home-Based School curriculum
http://www.clonlara.org/home_based
"Clonlara School was founded in 1967 as a private school serving 5 through 18 years old students in Ann Arbor.  Clonlara School is accredited by the National Private School Accreditation Alliance. Students who enroll in Clonlara School have the best of both worlds: Home education and private school enrollment. " - from the website.

Curriculum Services
http://www.curriculumservices.com/
Commercial site which sells curriculum kits and resources.

Early Advantage
http://early-advantage.com/
Sells the Muzzy language education programs for children.

Griggs University and International Academy
http://www.hsi.edu/
Formerly Home School International. Griggs University & International Academy is an accredited, Christian distance education provider. Griggs offers both individual courses and complete programs to students for preschool through college.

Homeschooling Books
http://www.homeschoolingbooks.com/
An online resource for ordering homeschool teaching materials.

Indiana University Independent Study Program
http://scs.indiana.edu/
A listing of IU's high school and college courses that may taken online.

PCS Edventures School Supplies
http://edventures.com/imssc/nsimssc/
Learning aides and supplies for educators.

Pearson Digital Learning
http://www.pearsondigital.com/
Provides educational software for K-12 and adult learners.

Social Studies
http://www.socialstudies.com/
Resources for social studies and writing courses for all grades.

Seton Home Study School
http://www.setonhome.org/
A Catholic homeschool program.

Wildridge Educational
http://www.wildridge.com/
Interdisciplinary education software for grades 7-12, designed by homeschooling parents.

Wired Learning
http://www.kn.pacbell.com/wired/wired.html
Online materials and websites that support a wide variety of curricula.

Worldview Software
http://www.worldviewsoftware.com/
Interactive software products to teach social studies to middle and high school students.


Resources for Teachers:

The Educator’s Reference Desk
www.eduref.org
Provides links to useful Web sites with information about citation styles, links to directories, government resources, law, intellectual freedom, libraries, mass media, school rankings, and statistics.

ERIC Database
http://www.mel.org
Provides access to resources in education through citations from 1966 through April 2004 and ERIC Journal citations from 1966 through March 2004 including full-text materials. Click the "MeL Databases" link, then select ERIC from the list of databases. You may be required to enter a Michigan drivers license number to log in.

ERIC Digests
http://www.eric.ed.gov/
Contains short reports on topics of current interest in education.

Michigan Educators' Resources
http://mtn.merit.edu/
A wealth of resources for teachers.

Montessori for Homeschoolers
http://www.montessori.edu/homeschooling.html
Ideas for using the Montessori method for homeschoolers.

National Center for Education Statistics
http://nces.ed.gov
Federal agency that collects and analyzes data related to education in the United States and other countries.

New York Times Learning Network
http://www.nytimes.com/learning/
A free news service that provides news summaries, quizzes, lesson plans, and more.

Science Hobbyist - Home Schooling Resources
http://www.amasci.com/home.html
Lots of science education resources.

TeachNet
http://www.teachnet.com/
Lesson plans, tools, and ideas for teachers.

Resources for teaching children with special needs:

Cause Online
http://www.causeonline.org/
Assistance for those who work with special needs children.

Homeschooling Children With Special Needs
http://www.geocities.com/Athens/8259/special.html
Links and information for those homeschooling special needs children.

Homeschooling Kids with Disabilities
http://members.tripod.com/~Maaja/index.htm
Links and information for those homeschooling special needs children.

Laureate Learning Systems
http://www.laureatelearning.net/professionals602/index.html
Software designed by speech-language pathologists and special educators to help students with special needs gain critical cognitive, language, and reading skills.

Mindplay
http://www.mindplay.com/
Educational software for special needs learners. Includes free downloads of games and shareware.

Recording for the Blind and Dyslexic
http://www.rfbd.org/
Offers recorded textbooks for the visually or learning disabled.


Homeschooling Sites:

A to Z Home's Cool
http://homeschooling.gomilpitas.com/
Packed with practical information for the homeschooling parent -- beginning homeschooler's guides, curriculum resources, and much more.

Abecedarian Home Preschool
http://www.geocities.com/Heartland/forest/2468/index.html
Homeschooling resources for preschool children.

Eclectic Homeschool Resource Center
http://eclectichomeschool.org/
Promotes creative homeschooling through unique resources, teaching methods and online helps. The Eclectic Homeschool Online is published from a Christian worldview. Articles and resources are not limited to purely Christian material.

Home Education Magazine
http://www.homeedmag.com/index.html
"On this site you will find free online newsletters, discussion boards, a networking list, and selections from the magazine, including articles, interviews, columnists, resources, reviews and more!" --from the site.

Home School Internet Resource Center
http://www.rsts.net/
Providing home school programs, learning disability therapy and home school curriculum for over 16 years.

Homeschool Legal Defense Fund
http://www.hslda.org
A nonprofit advocacy organization established to defend and advance the constitutional right of parents to direct the education of their children and to protect family freedoms.

Homeschool.com : Your Virtual Homeschool
http://www.homeschool.com/
Homeschool.com was created to empower parents to create the ideal school for their child at home! Homeschool.com's founding principle is to consistently provide resources, information, and support to all homeschooling families.

Homeschool World (the official site of Practical Homeschooling Magazine)
http://www.home-school.com/
Links to Practical Homeschooling Magazine, and to many resources of interest to the home schooling parent.

Homeschooling Today (the official site of Homeschooling Today Magazine)
http://www.homeschooltoday.com/
"The work of Homeschooling Today magazine is focused and specific. Our commitment to bring the homeschool community useful information and resources is supported by a Biblical conviction that God uses families to change the world." --from the site.

Homeschooling Zone
http://www.homeschoolzone.com/main.htm
An interactive global community of homeschoolers, afterschoolers and educators. Lots of resources and a place to share ideas.

Instructional TV for Homeschoolers
http://www.wgvu.org/iTV/index.cfm?id=info
Over 700 K-12 instructional programs, all tied to Michigan Standards & Benchmarks, and searchable. Cost:$35 per family per school year.

Jewish Homeschooling Resources
http://www.beliefnet.com/index/index_31812.html
A list of resources and links from Jewish homeschooling families from beliefnet.com.

Jon's Homeschooling Resources
http://www.midnightbeach.com/hs/

One of the oldest and largest homeschooling sites; a source of neutral, non-commercial homeschooling information.

Learn in Freedom
http://learninfreedom.org/
"This site is about learning in freedom, taking responsibility for your own learning. It shows you how to use your own initiative in learning, so you can use schools and teachers just when they are helpful to you, and voluntarily chosen by you. Besides internal links, there are links to more than 1,000 other Web sites on this site's more than forty pages." --from the site.

National Home Education Network
http://www.nhen.org/
Encourages and facilitates the grassroots work of state and local homeschooling organizations and individuals by providing information, fostering networking and promoting public relations on a national level.

National Home Education Research Institute
http://www.nheri.org/
"The National Home Education Research Institute's mission is to: produce high-quality research (e.g., statistics, facts, findings) on home-based education (homeschooling); serve as a clearinghouse of research for the public, researchers, homeschoolers, the media, and policy makers; and educate the public concerning the findings of all research on home education." --from the site.

NOVELIST
top


If you love to read, you'll love NoveList! With over 125,000 titles in the database, NoveList goes far beyond basic book reviews and bibliographies. You can search by author, title, character, setting, plot, and reading or grade level. You can look for "read-alikes;" books which are similar to those by your favorite author. You can browse hundreds of booklists on a wide range of topics. NoveList is one of the most powerful tools for readers available -- give it a try!

Go to MeL Databases to go to NoveList. If you're not using a library computer, you'll need a Michigan driver license number in order to access NoveList from home or work.

HOMESCHOOLING BOOKS
top

The heart of home schooling : Teaching what really matters / Christopher Klicka.-- Nashville, Tenn : Broadman & Holman, 2002.
649.68 KLI

School Starts at Home : Simple Ways to Make Learning Fun / Cheri Fuller .-- Colorado Springs, Colo : Pinon Press, 2004.
372.21 FUL

Worldwide guide to homeschooling : Facts and stats on the benefits of home school / Brian D. Ray.-- Nashville, Tenn : Broadman & Holman, 2004.
649.68 RAY

MAGAZINES
top Practical Homeschooling
http://www.home-school.com/
Practical Homeschooling will bring you up to date on everything from preschool and reading to college prep. In-depth reviews and annual Awards for best products. Expert columnists, including Bill & Mary Pride. Plus, success stories, inspiration & contests with prizes!

Babybug (Children's Area)
Babybug begins a lifelong love of books for infants and toddlers 6 months to 2 years. For babies who love to be read to and parents who love to read to them. It's filled with colorful pictures, simple rhymes, and stories that babies and parents will delight in reading together over and over again.

Family Fun (Adult Area)
http://familyfun.go.com/
Familyfun, a magazine for parents with children ages three to twelve, is an idea book for all the exciting things families can do together.

Kids Discover
http://www.kidsdiscover.com/
Kids Discover is a beautiful commercial-free magazine that helps children ages 6 and up to become involved, interested, and to understand. Kids Discover satisfies their natural curiosity, and makes it fun to learn about our world!

Ladybug
Ladybug opens the door to reading for kids ages 2 - 6. Every page of Ladybug is beautiful, colorful, and a delight to read. Each issue is filled with charming characters, activities, songs, poems, and stories.

Michigan History for Kids
http://www.michiganhistorymagazine.com/kids/index.html
Michigan History for Kids is a 24-page, colorful quarterly magazine that covers topics like sports, lumbering, the Civil War and the Upper Peninsula.

National Geographic Kids
http://www.nationalgeographic.com/ngkids/
A colorful monthly magazine created especially for curious kids. Novelty and hands-on learning make a winning combination that has captivated nearly one million readers for more than 20 years. Features encourage its readers to protect the planet.

Owl
http://www.owlkids.com/owl/
OWL is loaded with fascinating articles and amazing facts for 9 to 13 yr olds. Each issue includes science behind how things work, quizzes, contests, and topics on everyday life. With breaking news stories and mind-boggling puzzles, it's a thought-provoking, entertaining place for kids to grow.

Preschool Playroom
Where Bear in the Big Blue House, Spot, Maisy, Mr. Potato Head, Paddington Bear and Peter Rabbit make learning fun. Perfect for preschoolers, each issue contains drawing, matching, counting, coloring and reading activities. A character poster, plus a 6 page pull-out workbook, are also included.

Ranger Rick
http://www.nwf.org/kidzone/kzPage.cfm?siteId=3
Ranger Rick is for children ages 7 and up. Each issue is packed full with amazing facts, stunning photos and outdoor adventures that help kids sharpen reading skills and develop a deeper appreciation for nature and the natural sciences. A Parent's Choice Gold Award recipient in 1999.

Spider
(no web site available)
SPIDER magazine is a children's magazine filled with fun stories, poems, and activities perfectly pitched for newly independent readers and learners. It's specially written and edited for children who have reached that amazing age when they first get excited about reading on their own.

Turtle
http://www.cbhi.org/magazines/turtle/
Turtle Magazine features colorful and entertaining stories and poems, perfect for reading aloud. Hidden pictures, dot-to-dots, and mazes challenge young minds. Easy recipes teach kids kitchen skills and nutrition facts. Ask Dr. Cory features the latest health information for parents and teachers.

Zoobooks
http://www.zoobooks.com/
Simply written and beautifully illustrated. Each monthly issue "captures" one of 60 different animals through magnificent photography, illustrations, diagrams, descriptions and includes interactive activity pages. Kids get "up close and personal" with the world's most amazing creatures.

SUBJECT HEADINGS
top

education
education--parent participation
educational technology
home schooling
instructional materials
teaching materials

RELATED RESEARCH GUIDES
top

College Search
Education
Homework Help
Magazines
Test Preparation


last updated: October 31, 2008
http://www.parchmentlibrary.org
Questions or comments about this website: webmaster@parchmentlibrary.org