HOMEWORK HELP : A PCL PATHFINDER

 

Listed below are online resources for students in grades 1 through 12.

We welcome your comments and suggestions for titles/databases/topics you would like the library to carry. Speak with any staff member, use the suggestion box at the front desk, or e-mail us.

More help can be found by going to Related Research Guides, which list other Pathfinders you may find useful.


Quick Jump to:


Free Test Study Guides Online

Study Resources


General Homework Websites


Magazines & Newspapers

Math Homework Web Sites


Science Homework Web Sites

English Homework Web Sites

Geography Homework Web Sites

Related Pathfinders


FREE SAT, ACT PREP TESTING ONLINE

 

 

 

top

LearningExpress Library via the Michigan E-Library. (formerly Learn-A-Test)

LearningExpress Library is a completely interactive online learning platform of practice tests including the ACT and GRE, and a tutorial course series designed to help patrons, students, and adult learners succeed on the academic or licensing tests they must pass. You'll get immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of your results.

Click the "MeL Databases" link. You may log on at your school or library, or you may log on at home using any Michigan drivers license number. Click either the "log on in your library or school" or the "log on at home or work" link.

Select "LEARNINGEXPRESS LIBRARY " from the list. You'll find the ACT test prep under "COLLEGE PREP" and the SAT test prep under "SAT." LearningExpress Library offers many more practice tests, for military admission (ASVAB), civil service and public safety careers, etc.

Study Guide Zone
http://www.studyguidezone.com/
Free study guides on a variety of standardized tests commonly utilized for admissions, licensing, and educational assessment.

STUDY RESOURCES

 

 

 

top

InfoPlease
http://www.infoplease.com/homework
Nicely organized with good resources for all subjects and grade levels.

RefDesk
http://www.refdesk.com/
This site is so crammed full of resources, it might make you dizzy! Take a deep breath and steady yourself -- with a bit of patience you can find almost any fact you need.

LibrarySpot
http://www.libraryspot.com/
Easy to use collection of links to every sort of reference material -- encyclopedias, quotations, dictionaries, etc.

GENERAL HOMEWORK WEB SITES



 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

top

BJ Pinchbeck's Homework Helper
http://school.discovery.com/homeworkhelp/bjpinchbeck/index.html
Now a part of Discovery.com, BJ Pinchbeck's list of homework sites has been used since he founded it in 1996.

ClassBrain
http://www.classbrain.com/index.htm
Links for homework help for all grades.

FunBrain
http://www.funbrain.com/
Lots of games and activities to help kids learn basic skills.

Homework Spot
http://www.homeworkspot.com
A free homework information portal that features the excellent homework-related websites. Resources are available for students in K-12 and college prep.

High School Ace
http://highschoolace.com/ace/ace.cfm
Great resources for high school students.

KidsClick
http://www.kidsclick.org/
A collection of the best-of-the-best homework websites selected by librarians for kids. Easily searchable.

Kidspace
http://www.ipl.org/div/kidspace/
A selection of high-quality websites for kids, from the librarians at the Internet Public Library.

Linkasaurus
http://linkasaurus.com/
A light-hearted collection of great web sites for kids (homework helpers included).

MiKids
http://www.michigan.gov/mikids
All about Michigan, just for kids. A fun site!

SurfNetKids
http://www.surfnetkids.com/
Barbara Feldman, syndicated newspaper columnist, has collected this large list of educational websites for kids.

MAGAZINES, NEWSPAPERS - In PRINT & FULL-TEXT ONLINE

 

 

 

top

For a list of the magazines and newspapers we carry in the library, click HERE.

Many newspapers and magazines are available full-text online. You can search for, print and e-mail full-text articles for FREE thanks to the Michigan E-Library. Click the "MeL Databases" link. You may log on at your school or library, or you may log on at home using any Michigan drivers license number. Click either the "log on in your library or school" or the "log on at home or work" link.

We suggest eLibrary Elementary, InfoTrac and Sirs Discoverer as the best for students. Full-text articles can also be found using Article First, General Reference Center Gold, Wilson Select Plus and WorldCat.

Math Homework WEB SITES

top

A+ Math
http://www.aplusmath.com/
Developed to help students learn math interactively with games, puzzles, flash cards, worksheets, and more.

AAA Math
http://www.aaamath.com/
Quick reference to mathematics.

SCIENCE HOMEWORK WEB SITES

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

top

Exploratorium Snacks
http://www.exploratorium.edu/snacks/
These pages are full of Snacks...but they're not the kind you eat. They're the kind you can learn from and have fun with.

Kids Astronomy
http://www.kidsastronomy.com/
A kid's guide to the cosmos.

Schools Science Fairs Homepage
http://www.stemnet.nf.ca/sciencefairs/
Ideas and guidelines for science fair projects for all grades.

Science Bob
http://www.sciencebob.com/index.html
Fun science facts and activities

Try Science
http://www.tryscience.org/
Online games and links to real science centers.

Yahooligans Science
http://yahooligans.yahoo.com/science_and_oddities/
Links to science websites for students.

english HOMEWORK WEB SITES

 

 


top

NoveList K-8

Find books that younger readers will love -- search by author, title, character, setting, plot, and reading or grade level. Users can also browse hundreds of theme-oriented book lists for readers at all grade levels through Explore Fiction, and look for award-winning and recommended titles in Best Fiction. Great titles to read aloud can be found in the Browse Lists section. Many title records have direct links to Web sites with information about the author or with teacher resource materials.

You must have a Parchment Community Library card in order to access this database from home.

ATN Reading Lists
http://nancykeane.com/rl/
Suggested reading for students in K-12. Remarkably thorough!

Barron's Booknotes
http://www.pinkmonkey.com/booknotes/barrons/booknote.asp
Summaries of classic literature titles, with accompanying author information, glossaries, further reading, term paper ideas, and more.

SparkNotes
http://www.sparknotes.com/
Free online study guides for literature (and other subjects). See esp. the No Fear Shakespeare series, which has a side-by-side translation of the original language into modern English.

GEOGRAPHY HOMEWORK WEB SITES

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

top

Altapedia
http://www.atlapedia.com/
Full color physical maps, political maps as well as key facts and statistics on countries of the world.

Country Reports from ClassBrain
http://classbrain.com/art_cr/publish/
Links to information on countries of the world.

National Geographic's Map Machine
http://plasma.nationalgeographic.com/mapmachine/
Interactive maps which can feature roads, geographic features, satellite views, weather, agriculture and more.

State Maps
http://www.50states.com/maps/
Outline state maps of all 50 states. Site also offers facts for each state.

State Maps from ClassBrain
http://classbrain.com/artstate/publish/
Links to information about all 50 states.

World Atlas
http://geography.about.com/library/maps/blindex.htm?once=true&
Links to maps and information about most countries and regions in the world, from About.com

RELATED RESEARCH GUIDES

top

College Search
Contemporary Issues
Countries
Decades
Education
Elections for Kids
Homeschooling
Magazines
Research Tools
Science Experiments
Test Preparation


last updated: October 31, 2008
http://www.parchmentlibrary.org
Questions or comments about this website: webmaster@parchmentlibrary.org