Internet & COMPUTER Use: A PCL Pathfinder

The resources listed below discuss computer use and Internet use, security, and children's issues.

The terms and phrases listed in the subject headings below can be used to search for more materials in the library’s catalog and research databases. If you need further assistance, please ask a librarian.


Quick Jump to:

COMPUTER TUTORIALS

BASIC INTERNET USE

SEARCH ENGINES

E-MAIL

INTERNET SECURITY

CHILDREN AND THE NET

SUBJECT HEADINGS

RELATED RESEARCH GUIDES

COMPUTER TUTORIALS
top

InPictures Computer Tutorials
http://inpics.net/
These tutorials are based on pictures -- you can see how the screen should look -- and they're free! Learn how to use Microsoft Office, Opensource, web layout, and web graphics.

Mousercise : Learn to use a computer mouse
http://www.pbclibrary.org/mousing/
A wonderful tutorial from the Palm Beach County Library system. Also includes practice exercises and games designed to hone your "mousing" skills.

The absolute beginner's guide to computer basics / Michael Miller.-- Indianapolis, Ind : Que, 2004.
004.16 MIL

BASIC INTERNET USE
top

Basic Web Lessons
http://www.aarp.org/learntech/computers/basic_web/
This tutorial for beginners provides definitions, explanations of browser features, and instructions on navigation, searching, and troubleshooting. From AARP, formerly the American Association for Retired Persons.

Learn the Net
http://www.learnthenet.com/english/index.html
A free web-based tutorial to help beginners learn
to use the Internet.

Mousercise : Learn to use a computer mouse
http://www.pbclibrary.org/mousing/
A wonderful tutorial from the Palm Beach County Library system. Also includes practice exercises and games designed to hone your "mousing" skills.

The absolute beginner's guide to computers and the Internet / Michael Miller.-- Indianapolis, Ind : Que, 2001.
004.16 MIL

The Internet for dummies / by John R. Levine, Carol Baroudi, and Margaret Levine Young.-- 8th ed.-- New York, NY : Hungry Minds, c2002.
Covers hardware, software, servers, e-mail, search engines, online shopping and auctions, resources for children, parental guidance, and privacy.
004.678 LEV

SEARCH ENGINES
top

All Search Engines
http://www.allsearchengines.com/
"The net's top search engine index, a handy search engine directory." --from the web site. A similar index is Search Engine Showdown.

Alta Vista
http://www.altavista.com/
An uncluttered search engine for experienced researchers. Searches in (and translates) several languages.

Dogpile
http://www.dogpile.com/info.dogpl/
Searches many of the Internet's top search engines at the same time using "metasearch" technology. Similar metasearch engines are Metacrawler, Search.com, and Web Crawler.

Find Sounds
http://www.findsounds.com/
A free site where you can search the Web for sound effects and musical instrument samples.

Google
http://www.google.com
The leading Internet search engine. Be sure and check out the "more" link on the home page to see the many additional search options and tools available.

Kartoo
http://www.kartoo.com/
A unique (and fun) presentation of data. "KartOO is a metasearch engine with visual display interfaces. When you click on OK, KartOO launches the query to a set of search engines, gathers the results, compiles them and represents them in a series of interactive maps through a proprietary algorithm." --from the web site.

Librarian's Index to the Internet
http://lii.org/
A very well-organized subject guide to high-quality web sites (it's run by librarians, after all...) "We at LII have a rigorous commitment to data quality. Every site entered in the LII database is reviewed at least twice--sometimes three or four times--before it goes "live." An active weeding program keeps us current--while sites change and die all the time, our weekly report nearly always has under 100 "dead" sites." --from the web site.

Soople
http://www.soople.com
Allows users to easily refine searches -- by file type (Excel, Powerpoint, etc.), within a specific site, multiple sites, similar sites, etc. Also includes a definitions search tool, a translator, a calculator, a number search tool, and more.

Yahoo
http://www.yahoo.com
Hundreds of subject categories to choose from. A good place to start if you're unsure of what search terms to use.

Search Engines for Kids...

Ask Jeeves for Kids
http://www.ajkids.com
First searches a database of selected sites arranged as questions; then conducts a parallel search of encyclopedias, Yahooligans and Education World.

Kid's Click
http://sunsite.berkeley.edu/KidsClick!/
A database of over 6400 sites compiled by librarians.

Kid's Search
http://www.rcls.org/ksearch.htm
Allows children to search the net using various portals, such as Yahooligans and Kid's Click.

Yahoo Kids
http://kids.yahoo.com/
Designed for Web surfers ages 7 to 12. Sites selected by the YAHOO! Inc. staff.

E-MAIL PROVIDERS
top

You may obtain a free e-mail address from any one of several providers on the Internet. You may access your e-mail from any computer linked to the Internet. Many of these providers also offer augmented e-mail services for a fee -- be sure you are signing up for the free service.

E-Mail Addresses
http://www.emailaddresses.com/email_web.htm
This is a directory of e-mail providers.

Free E-mail Providers Guide
http://www.fepg.net/search.html
Allows users to search for free e-mail providers based on types of services offered.

Yahoo's list of free e-mail providers
http://dir.yahoo.com/Business_and_Economy/Business_to_Business/Communications_and_Networking/Internet_and_World_Wide_Web/Email_Providers/Free_Email/
A large directory of free e-mail providers on Yahoo.com.

Gmail
http://gmail.google.com
Free e-mail from Google.

Hotmail
http://www.hotmail.com
Free e-mail from MSN.

Yahoo Mail
http://mail.yahoo.com
Free e-mail from Yahoo.com.

INTERNET SECURITY & PRIVACY
top

Eat Your Cookies (Tourbus)
http://www.tourbus.com/cookies.htm
A simple explanation about Internet "cookies" from the editors of Tourbus, an online magazine about the Internet.

Get Net Wise
http://www.getnetwise.org
Information about stopping unwanted e-mail and spam, protecting your computer from hackers and viruses, keeping your personal information private, and keeping children safe online.

Virus Protection 101
http://www.tourbus.com/vp101.htm
Explains viruses and how to protect your computer against them. From the editors of Tourbus, an online magazine about the Internet.

CHILDREN AND THE INTERNET
top

Children's Partnership : Parents Guide to the Information Superhighway
http://www.childrenspartnership.org/AM/Template.cfm?Section=Home&section=Technology1&template=/CM/ContentDisplay.cfm&ContentFileID=1243
A brochure (which requires Adobe Acrobat Reader to view, click HERE for more information and a link to the free download) which contains comprehensive discussion of the benefits and risks for kids of e-mail, the Web, and chat rooms. Tips include an explanation of what “parental control tools” (filters) can do in each case. Privacy, commercialism, the law, and ethics are briefly highlighted. Includes “Staying Safe Online: A Young Person's Contract.” This brochure also includes information about getting started online and how to find good sites for kids and parents.

How can I educate my child to use the Internet safely?
http://kids.getnetwise.org/
This guide discusses risks for children online at different age levels—including teenagers—and from different types of online activity. Also includes examples of contracts for kids to maintain their safety.

Internet Safety Tips for Kids from the FBI
http://www.fbi.gov/kids/k5th/safety2.htm

Kidz Privacy
http://www.ftc.gov/bcp/conline/edcams/kidzprivacy/kidz.htm
The FTC explains the new children's privacy law to both children and their parents.

SafeKids.Com : Your family's guide to making the Internet and Technology
fun, safe and productive.

http://www.safekids.com/

SafeTeens.Com : A place for parents and teens to learn how to use the Internet safely. No preaching, just good advice
http://www.safeteens.com

Keep your kids safe on the Internet / Simon Johnson.-- New York : McGraw-Hill/Osborne, c2004.
A guide to keeping children safe on the Internet covers such topics as content-filtering software, firewalls, antivirus software, spyware, monitoring children on the Internet.
004.678 JOH

SUBJECT HEADINGS
top

Internet
Internet searching
Web search engines

RELATED RESEARCH GUIDES
top

Finding Forms
Finding People
Research Tools


last updated: November 7, 2008
http://www.parchmentlibrary.org
Questions or comments about this website: webmaster@parchmentlibrary.org