Magazines & NEWSPAPERS at the Parchment Community Library

 

These magazines and newspapers are sorted alphabetically by title. We have also grouped them by subject -- see the "Subject Categories" box below and click any subject link to see a list of our magazines which cover the topic.

Each magazine title is followed by a link to its website (if available) and by a brief description provided by the publisher.

The newest issue of each magazine may not be borrowed. Older issues may be borrowed for one week, and no more than 15 per patron at one time.

We welcome your comments on our current selection, and your suggestions for magazine titles/topics you would like the library to carry. Speak with any staff member, use the suggestion box at the front desk, or e-mail us.

Hundreds of full-text magazines and newspapers are also available online via the Michigan E-Library at www.mel.org. Select the "MeL Databases" link and choose one of the many magazine databases available. Log in from home or work using a Michigan drivers license number. If you need assistance, call us at 343-7747 or e-mail us at ref@parchmentlibrary.org.

Quick Jump to TITLES:
CLICK ON A LETTER TO FIND MAGAZINES BY TITLE: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Quick Jump to SUBJECT CATEGORIES:

MAGAZINES LISTED ALPHABETICALLY BY TITLE
top

AAA Living / Michigan (Adult Area)
http://www.autoclubgroup.com/michigan/travel/aaaliving/
Contains articles on destinations in and around Michigan, travel tips, events calendar, and more.

AARP The Magazine (Adult Area) [formerly Modern Maturity]
http://www.aarpmagazine.org/
AARP The Magazine is about lifelong innovation and provides practical tools for men and women who are reinventing the second half of life. In three customized demographic editions (50s, 60s, and 70+), AARP The Magazine speaks to readers personally, with smart, relevant information delivered in a trusted voice, often with a touch of humor.

American Girl (Children's Area)
http://www.americangirl.com/agmg/
Created especially for girls age 8 and up, American Girl is an appealing, age-appropriate alternative to teen magazines. Features advice, crafts, contests, puzzles, games, giggles, and more!

American Heritage (Adult Area)
http://www.americanheritage.com
A magazine of cultural, social, political, and military history for a general audience; publishes articles on significant persons, events, issues, and places from America's past.

Anime Insider (Teen Area)
http://www.wizarduniverse.com/magazines/anime.cfm
Anime Insider covers the biggest and the best Japanese animation, manga, and more. Each bimonthly issue covers the entire gamut of anime for all levels of fans, from mass-market, kid-friendly properties like Yu-Gi-Oh! to straight-off-the-Tokyo-airwaves titles like Samurai Champloo. Anime Insider covers the TV shows, DVDs, and manga volumes as well as video games, merchandise, and Japanese culture.

Atlantic Monthly (Adult Area)
http://www.theatlantic.com/
This general editorial magazine focuses on contemporary social and cultural issues. Its emphasis includes a wide variety of subjects. The Atlantic Monthly encourages a rich and balanced lifestyle through commentary, criticism, fiction and humor.

Audubon (Adult Area)
http://magazine.audubon.org/
The mission of Audubon magazine is to help its readers appreciate, understand, and preserve the natural world, with a particular focus on birds and wildlife and their habitats.

back to top

Babybug (Children's Area)
[no website available]
Babybug begins a lifelong love of books for infants and toddlers 6 months to 2 years. For babies who love to be read to and parents who love to read to them. It's filled with colorful pictures, simple rhymes, and stories that babies and parents will delight in reading together over and over again.

Barrons (Adult Area - Newspapers)
http://www.barrons.com
BARRON'S is edited to contain in-depth analyses of how the capital markets impact on the future of business and government. Articles point out industrial developments and investment opportunities affecting the businessperson, the money manager, the investor, the advocate, and the consumer. Each issue contains corporate evaluations, financial columns, and a complete listing of economic indicators and market results.

Better Homes & Gardens (Adult Area)
http://www.bhg.com/
This home and family service magazine is designed for husbands and wives who have a primary interest in the home and family. It services its readers in the form of ideas, advice, information and inspiration to achieve a better home and family.

Better Investing (Adult Area)
http://www.better-investing.org/publications/
It is a monthly how-to magazine for people who want to learn how to become successful lifelong investors. It comes complete with investment principles to follow, tools to use to help find good companies at good prices, and even a support group - a community of other investors ready and willing to help you in your efforts to become a better investor.

Bicycling (Adult Area)
http://www.bicycling.com/
Magazine for bicycling enthusiasts featuring product reviews, riding techniques, touring routes, fitness schedules, racing reports and bicycle repair.

Bird Talk (Adult Area)
(no web site)
Everything you need to know to help keep your pet bird healthy and active. Get the latest information on bird healthcare and nutrition, behavior, training, grooming how-to's and housing tips. Readers also enjoy colorful photos, entertaining stories, and a centerfold poster in each monthly issue.

Birds & Blooms (Adult Area) COMING SOON!
http://www.birdsandblooms.com/
America s favorite backyard beauty magazine brings gorgeous backyards, gardens and wild birds into your living room with vivid, full-color photos, reader-shared stories and practical advice, tips and do-it-yourself projects.

Body & Soul (Adult Area)
http://www.marthastewart.com/page.jhtml;jsessionid=EDFC5S2RRKKWZWCKUUWSHPWYJKSS2JO0?type=learn-cat&id=cat19838&subStyleType=mag&rsc=SC233861
The very best of new age thinking from today's leading-edge visionaries, focusing on a healthy lifestyle.

Bookmarks (Adult Area)
http://www.bookmarksmagazine.com/
A Library Journal "Best New Magazine" of 2002. Author Kurt Vonnegut raves, "Nowhere else have I found such thoughtful and literate reportage on the state of the American soul." Bookmarks is a colorful, smart, decidedly unstuffy guide to the best in new and classic books.

Boys Life (Children's Area)
http://www.boyslife.org/
Features scouting, sports, careers, health, science, fiction, various hobbies and other subjects of interest to boys 7 to 17 years old.

Brides (Adult Area)
http://www.brides.com/
Plan your perfect wedding and honeymoon with Brides, America's favorite bridal magazine! Every issue brings you dazzling dresses for every bride's budget and style, fashion ideas for the entire wedding party, tips for personalizing your reception, ideas for a romantic honeymoon, and much more.

Business Week (Adult Area)
http://www.businessweek.com/
BusinessWeek Magazine prepares you to succeed in today's complex economy. You'll find in-depth coverage of the latest trends in technology, finance and management. Our insight and analysis helps you succeed, personally and professionally.

back to top

Cat Fancy (Adult Area)
http://www.catfancy.com/catfancy/
Your complete guide to help you better understand, care for and enjoy your cat. Get important healthcare advice, nutrition tips, in-depth breed profiles, and insights into your cat's behavior. Plus, share the learning experiences and special stories of cat lovers just like you.

Christian Science Monitor (Adult Area - Newspapers)
http://www.csmonitor.com/
Reports on global issues. Correspondents worldwide write on political, cultural, social, economic, religious trends and topics.

Christianity Today (Adult Area)
http://www.christianitytoday.com/
Magazine covering a wide range of news and editorials from a Christian perspective.

Coins Monthly (Adult Area)
http://www.coinsmagazine.net/
Since its inception, in 1955, Coins magazine has been a hobby leader in providing collectors with important and timely information key to making wise decisions on what to collect and how to collect. With monthly contributions from leading hobby experts, it's your one-stop hobby source.

Consumer Reports (Adult Area)
http://www.consumerreports.org
The editorial focus of this magazine is to provide information as a resource about different products to general consumers. It evaluates all products on an unchanging and thorough scale to provide a fair, unbiased, evaluation for individuals seeking to purchase.

Cooking Light (Adult Area)
http://www.cookinglight.com/cooking/
Cooking Light is dedicated to giving readers the necessary information to make smart choices about their food and their entire lifestyle, helping them feel better and look their very best.

Cook's Illustrated (Adult Area)
http://www.cooksillustrated.com/
Cook's Illustrated provides readers with recipes, cooking techniques, and product and food recommendations exhaustively developed in our extensive Test Kitchen facility - the same kitchen featured on our cooking show, America's Test Kitchen. Included are best ways to prepare favorite American dishes -- from pot roast and chocolate chip cookies to grilled salmon and fruit cobbler. Best (and worst) cooking equipment -- from chef's knives to cookie sheets. Best brands -- from canned tomatoes to baking chocolate. Best cooking techniques - from brining shrimp to baking ham. And all of this is provided without a single page of advertising - just 100% cooking information.

Cosmo Girl (Teen Area)
http://www.cosmogirl.com
It's about time! Written with the Cosmo Girl in mind about issues you face now, subjects and circumstances that matter to you. Plus fashion and beauty tips that fit who you are, where you are. All geared to help you discover you. Be the first to get this hot, fun, exciting, revealing, insightful, cool magazine now!

Cosmopolitan (Adult Area)
http://www.cosmopolitan.com/
COSMOPOLITAN focuses on personal growth, relationships and careers, with expanded reporting on fashion and beauty, health and fitness. Covered as well are celebrities and pop culture... and just about everything else young women want to know about.

Cottage Living (Adult Area)
http://www.cottageliving.com/cottage/
Brand new from the publishers of Southern Living. Learn the best ways to let your personal style shine, with casual decorating, and relaxed entertaining ideas.

Country (Adult Area)
http://www.country-magazine.com/
Celebrates America's beauty with rural photography, recipes, and crafts for those who live in or long for the country.

Country Living (Adult Area)
http://www.countryliving.com/
This is a lifestyle magazine edited for the country homeowner who wants to recreate the warmth and charm of the country lifestyle. Each issue embraces American country cooking, antiques, home building, real estate and travel.

Country Weekly (Adult Area)
http://www.countryweekly.com/
Country Weekly is devoted to country music and entertainment. Each issue is packed with feature articles and photos of country music personalities, music and video reviews, tour dates and late breaking news from the world of country music.

Country Woman (Adult Area)
http://www.countrywomanmagazine.com/
Country Woman is a 68-page, full-color, bimonthly magazine for women who live in or long for the country. It is a positive, upbeat, entertaining and informative publication. The publication reflects the many interests and roles of its readers through short, photo-illustrated profiles of rural women doing interesting things, be it having a special hobby or avocation, running a rural-based business, or engaging in a special volunteer activity. Every issue features a large food section filled with mouth-watering recipes for today's country cooks. The heart of the food section is the recipe contest, with the winning recipes printed on recipe cards. There are also ideas for easy country decorating, casual entertaining, crafts, gardening, fiction, puzzles and nostalgic photos and reader remembrances.

Crafts N Things (Adult Area)
http://www.craftsnthings.com/
The craft magazine that assists with large color photos, step-by-step instructions and full-size patterns.

back to top

Deadly Pleasures (Adult Area)
http://www.deadlypleasures.com/
America's premier fan oriented mystery magazine. Deadly Pleasures celebrates all that is good about the mystery genre with reviews, commentary, and previews of upcoming mystery books and movies.

Detroit Free Press (Adult Area - Newspapers)
http://www.freep.com/index.htm
The Detroit Free Press is a daily newspaper with regular columns on national and international news, opinion, business, finance, sports, technology, arts, entertainment, letters, and classified ads.

Dog Fancy (Adult Area)
http://www.dogfancy.com/dogfancy/
Your complete guide to help you better understand, care for and enjoy your dog. Every issue includes top canine healthcare information, grooming tips, expert training techniques, and in-depth breed profiles. Celebrate the bond between you and your dog with entertaining stories.

back to top

Eating Well (Adult Area)
http://www.eatingwell.com/
A delicious balance of cooking and must-have nutrition features, EatingWell is the award-winning Magazine of Food & Health. Readers find inspiration to shop smarter, cook lighter (and quicker) and dine better. Beautiful color images illustrate more than 50 never-fail, full-flavored recipes per issue for healthful everyday eating and entertaining.

Ebony (Adult Area)
http://www.ebony.com
Features pictorial articles and stories about Black America's history, goals, aspirations, fashion, and food. Each month EBONY gives readers the best about achievers in all fields and their keys to success.

Economist (Adult Area)
http://www.economist.com
A weekly news and business publication written for top business decision-makers and opinion leaders who need a wide range of information and views on world events. It explores the close ties between domestic and international issues, business, finance, current affairs, science and technology. Published in London, England.

Electronic Gaming Monthly (Teen Area)
http://egm.1up.com/
Electronic Gaming Monthly focuses on new electronic games for console video game units, including the Nintendo, Super NES, Sega Genesis, Sega 32x, Sony Play Station, and portable game systems such as the Nintendo GameBoy, Sega Game Gear. EGM also features regular columns on the latest game releases as well as special sections devoted to movies, records and other subjects of interest to the youth market.

Encore (Adult Area)
http://www.encorekalamazoo.com/encore.cfm
Encore Magazine is beginning its 32nd year of serving the Kalamazoo Community. It focuses on the people behind all that's good in the Kalamazoo area and showcases residents' activities and community contributions. Each issue features columns written by area experts on a variety of topics. We also publish two poems each month, which have been written by local poets. The mission of the magazine is to provide a positive, entertaining focus on the people behind the strengths of our diverse community.

Enterprise (Online only!)
http://www.kazoochamber.com/
A free monthly online magazine for and about business in Southwest Michigan, which contains articles of interest to local entrepreneurs, and listings of area business seminars, training, and meetings. The Chamber's mission is "To help members grow and prosper through leadership, programs and services focused on competiveness, community improvement and regional cooperation." You must have an e-mail address to subscribe.

Entertainment Weekly (Adult Area)
http://www.ew.com/ew
Stretch your entertainment dollar to the max! It will last longer through the resources of Entertainment Weekly. It's America's most exciting weekly entertainment magazine. With it you can stay on top of what is hot and what's not as it covers movies, videos, books, and more.

Esquire (Adult Area)
http://www.esquire.com/
ESQUIRE is a fascinating mix of entertainment and enlightenment - stories that amaze and intrigue, fantastic fiction, down-to-earth fashion, sports, great places to do cool things, advice on nutrition and sexual fitness and fabulous women. Plus books. Movies. Music. Humor. Politics. ESQUIRE is as refreshing as a cold beer on a hot day.

back to top

Family Circle (Adult Area)
http://www.familycircle.com/home/homepage.jsp
For contemporary women, providing information on a variety of today's issues ranging from financial planning to food, from health to beauty and fashion, to planning the perfect family outing.

Family Fun (Adult Area)
http://familyfun.go.com/
Familyfun, a magazine for parents with children ages three to twelve, is an idea book for all the exciting things families can do together.

Fast Company (Adult Area)
http://www.fastcompany.com
Since 1995, Fast Company has been an informative and vital voice of the changing business industry. The monthly magazine is a beacon to new industries, especially those tied to the Internet, but offers more. Inside are smart attitudes and information that give entrepreneurs and business professionals the particulars of leadership and organization, no matter what the trade. Find key ingredients of working in teams or read a candid interview with the leaders of today's leading-edge companies. The magazine also offers practical business tools and tactics, from must-have gadgets to how to handle voluminous amounts of e-mail. Ideas come from Wall Street, Silicon Valley, Harvard, and even Las Vegas. The magazine dubbed the entrepreneurship and consulting movement "Free-Agent Nation," and overnight became the bible for those working for themselves. --Doug Thomas for Amazon.com

Field & Stream (Adult Area)
http://www.fieldandstream.com/fieldstream/
America's Number One sportsman's magazine, featuring in-depth articles on hunting, fishing, outdoor adventure, and conservation news. First-class fiction, and more. Field & Stream, editorial excellence for over 100 years.

Forbes (Adult Area)
http://www.forbes.com/
The hard-hitting journalism that you have come to expect from America's leading business magazine. Read more about Technology, Money & Investing, Market Trends, Portfolio Strategy, Entrepreneurs and Forbes Life. Supplements: FYI (quarterly)

back to top

Girls Life (Teen Area)
http://www.girlslife.com/
Girl's Life is an intelligent, non-condescending and age appropriate (10-15) magazine that has won the pretigious Parent's Choice Award. It is the magazine for girls.

Golf Digest (Adult Area)
http://www.golfdigest.com/
For all golfers from beginners to low handicap players. Each issue contains instructional articles written by playing and teaching professionals which discuss various aspects of the game. Other articles deal with the personalities and accomplishments of tournament players and other golf figures.

Good Housekeeping (Adult Area)
http://www.goodhousekeeping.com/
GOOD HOUSEKEEPING focuses on food, nutrition, fashion, beauty, relationships, home decorating and home care, health and child care and consumer and social issues. Articles are enhanced by reports from the Good Housekeeping Institute, the evaluation laboratories of the magazine, that serve to simplify purchasing decisions of readers.

Grand Rapids Press (Adult Area - Newspapers)
http://www.grandrapidspress.com/
The Grand Rapids Press is the largest of Michigan's eight Booth newspapers, all owned by Advance Newspapers. The Press is published every weekday evening; Saturday, Sunday and holiday mornings. At the hub of West Michigan, The Press serves all of Kent and Ottawa counties, and is distributed in 28 additional counties.

Guideposts (Adult Area)
http://www.guidepostsmag.com/
Guideposts, the world's foremost inspirational magazine, features true-life first-person stories by everyday people and celebrities alike. You'll be moved by their heartwarming narratives of hope and inspiration.

back to top

Harpers (Adult Area)
http://www.harpers.org/
An American journal of literature, politics, culture, and the arts published continuously from 1850.

Health (Adult Area)
http://www.health.com/health/
Health is America's most-trusted health and wellness magazine, giving women the most credible, useful, and up-to-date information and inspiration on how to live a healthier, happier life. Its get-real perspective helps readers make sense of conflicting news, trends, and studies. Health covers well-being, fitness, nutrition, and beauty with intelligence and flair, showing that healthy living truly looks good on you.

Healthy Cooking (Adult Area)
http://www.tasteofhome.com/healthy-cooking/
Treat yourself to a new food magazine! Each issue serves up 75 "slimmed down" recipes which include hearty healthy entrees, savory soups & sides, luscious low-fat desserts even complete holiday spreads! Every recipe comes with complete nutritional analysis & certified by a registered dietitian. (Formerly "Light & Tasty" magazine)

Highlights (Children's Area)
http://www.highlights.com/
Highlights for Children delivers puzzles, science projects, jokes and riddles to challenge young minds, while characters in regular features like Hidden Pictures, The Timbertoes, Goofus and Gallant and the Bear Family, keep children coming back like good friends should.

Horticulture (Adult Area)
http://www.hortmag.com/
Since 1904, Horticulture magazine has been the authoritative voice of gardening, providing inspiration, instruction, and entertainment for passionate gardeners. Celebrating the simple pleasures of growing plants and creating gardens, Horticulture serves as an indispensable guide and trusted friend, a primary resource for avid gardeners from every corner of the country.

Hot Rod (Teen Area)
http://www.hotrod.com/
The biggest, baddest, car-guy magazine in the business! We bring you the broadest performance car coverage you'll find anywhere. From one end of that smokin' rubber road to the other. Raging rods, rally rockets, pro stocks, screaming imports, sizzling new show cars, and classic muscle - if it's hitting the streets, you'll read about it here first!

Humanist (Adult Area)
http://www.thehumanist.org/
The Humanist applies Humanism-a naturalistic and democratic outlook informed by science, inspired by art, and motivated by compassion-to broad areas of social and personal concern. With a distinguished cadre of feature writers covering everything from science and religion to politics and popular culture, and with a wide-ranging list of stellar contributors, the Humanist continues to challenge its readers with insightful ethical critique and commentary on the central issues of our time.

back to top

In Fisherman (Adult Area)
http://www.in-fisherman.com/magazine/articles/
In-Fisherman magazine is widely recognized as the finest multi-species fishing magazine in the world. Published 8 times a year to a nationwide audience of advanced and expert anglers who are versatile in many angling disciplines.

Inc. (Adult Area)
http://www.inc.com
Delivers advice, tools, and services, to help business owners and CEOs start, run, and grow their businesses more successfully.

back to top

Kalamazoo Gazette (Adult Area - Newspapers)
http://www.kalamazoogazette.com/


Kids Discover (Children's Area)
http://www.kidsdiscover.com/
Kids Discover is a beautiful commercial-free magazine that helps children ages 6 and up to become involved, interested, and to understand. Kids Discover satisfies their natural curiosity, and makes it fun to learn about our world!

Kiplingers Personal Finance (Adult Area)
http://www.kiplinger.com/personalfinance /
Kiplinger's Personal Finance magazine provides you with down-to-earth advice on managing your money and achieving financial security. You get trustworthy information and practical guidance on saving, investing, planning for retirement, paying for college, buying an automobile, home and other major purchases.

back to top

Ladies Home Journal (Adult Area)
http://www.lhj.com/
Presents advice, information and entertainment. Every issue contains dozens of recipes, celebrity profiles, articles on relationships, and tips on health, beauty and fashion, real-life stories and fiction, as well as advice on money and career management.

Ladybug (Children's Area)
[no website available]
Ladybug opens the door to reading for kids ages 2 - 6. Every page of Ladybug is beautiful, colorful, and a delight to read. Each issue is filled with charming characters, activities, songs, poems, and stories.

Light & Tasty see Healthy Cooking

back to top

Mad (Teen Area)
http://www.dccomics.com/mad/
Magazine of social parody, political satire and just plain silliness.

Men's Health (Adult Area)
http://www.menshealth.com
A lifestyle magazine dedicated to showing men the practical, possible and positive actions that make their lives better, with features covering fitness, relationships, nutrition, careers, grooming, travel and health issues.

Metropolitan Home (Adult Area)
[no website available]
This magazine focuses on the art of living well. It contains coverage of home design, furnishings, fashion, food, wine and spirits, entertaining, electronics and travel. It is aimed at quality-conscious young adults seeking personal, individual style and comfort in decorating.

Mi Biz Southwest. Muskegon (Mich.): 1988- . Bi-monthly. (Adult Area)
http://www.mibiz.com
Founded in 2001 by its editor/publisher, William R. Lowry, MiBizSouthwest today presents readers with an in-depth snapshot of the business scene throughout Southwest Michigan 26 times a year.

Michigan History (Adult Area)
http://www.michiganhistorymagazine.com/
Published since 1917, Michigan History is about—and a part of—Michigan's fascinating past. Every colorful 56-page issue tells the exciting stories of Michigan people and their impact on their communities, the nation and the world. Michigan History overflows with intriguing feature articles, bold illustrations and departments highlighting history-related books, travel and events six time each year.

Michigan History for Kids (Children's Area)
http://www.michiganhistorymagazine.com/kids/index.html
Michigan History for Kids is a 24-page, colorful quarterly magazine that covers topics like sports, lumbering, the Civil War and the Upper Peninsula.

Michigan Living see AAA Living / Michigan

Modern Maturity see AARP The Magazine

Money (Adult Area)
http://money.cnn.com/
Money - Strategies to help you reach your financial goals and make the most of your money, including advice on investing, cutting taxes, and planning for retirement.

Mother Earth News (Adult Area)
http://www.motherearthnews.com/
A country lifestyle publication that helps readers with how-to information on home improvement, organic gardening, small business development, outdoor recreation, wood working projects, and natural country cooking from scratch.

Mother Jones (Adult Area)
http://www.motherjones.com
Mother Jones is an independent nonprofit whose roots lie in a commitment to social justice implemented through first rate investigative reporting.

Motor Trend (Adult Area)
http://www.motortrend.com/
America's automotive authority filled with road tests, service features, forecasts and racing news. A guide new-car buyers & enthusiasts trust most! An import and export automotive authority.

back to top

NASCAR Winston Cup Illustrated (Adult Area)
[no website available]
Presents the people of NASCAR and their lifestyles in a slick, full-color format. It also includes race coverage.

Nation (Adult Area)
http://www.thenation.com/
A journal of politics, economics, education, foreign policy, labor, law and other social issues, literature and the arts.

National Geographic (Adult Area)
http://www7.nationalgeographic.com/ngm/0507/index.html
NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC, the flagship magazine of the National Geographic Society, chronicles exploration and adventure, as well as changes that impact life on Earth. Editorial coverage includes people and places of the world, with an emphasis on human involvement in a changing universe.

National Geographic Kids (Children's Area)
http://www.nationalgeographic.com/kids/
A colorful monthly magazine created especially for curious kids. Novelty and hands-on learning make a winning combination that has captivated nearly one million readers for more than 20 years. Features encourage its readers to protect the planet.

National Geographic Traveler (Adult Area)
http://www.nationalgeographic.com/traveler/
Contains articles on enticing sites in the United States, Canada, and abroad. Helps readers to discover when to go and what to see and do.

National Review (Adult Area)
http://www.nationalreview.com/
America's conservative magazine. Commentary and analysis on politics, economics, and current events from a conservative perspective.

National Wildlife
(Adult Area)
http://www.nwf.org/nationalwildlife/
Treatment of America's wild creatures and places through full-color photo galleries, natural history features, outdoor adventure articles and news items of ecological concern. Conservation-minded magazine of nature and the environment.

New Yorker (Adult Area)
http://www.newyorker.com/
The New Yorker is a national magazine edited to address current issues, ideas and events. The magazine blends domestic, and international news analysis, with in depth features, critics and humorous observations on politics and business, culture and the arts, education, style, sports and literature.

Newsweek (Adult Area)
http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/3032542/site/newsweek/
This weekly news magazine covers the national and global news front through news, commentary and analysis. It includes national and international affairs, business, lifestyle, society, the arts, politics, the economy, personal business, the Washington scene, health, science and technology.

Nicklelodeon (Children's Area)
http://www.nick.com/all_nick/nick_mag/index.jhtml
This is an interactive and informative humor magazine, brought to you by the hit children's network, for children ages 6-14. Its design and content encourage imagination and creativity to spark the minds of its young readers.

Nutrition Action Health Letter (Adult Area)
http://www.cspinet.org/nah/
Offers objective data on nutrition and health issues. A typical issue could contain notes on "fake fat news," longer articles covering food and pesticides, a consumer report on "picking a pasta sauce," and questions and answers about common eating problems.

back to top

O (Oprah Magazine) (Adult Area)
http://www2.oprah.com/omagazine/omag_landing.jhtml
A personal growth guide that will give women the tools they need to explore and reach for their dreams. Aiming to give smart women confidence to express their individual style and to make choices that will lead to a happier more fulfilling life. Follows a no stress approach.

Outdoor Life (Adult Area)
http://www.outdoorlife.com/outdoor/
For the outdoor enthusiast, containing up-to-the-minute information on fishing, hunting, boating and conservation as well as award winning outdoor adventure stories.

Outside (Adult Area)
http://outside.away.com/index.html
For those who lead active year-round lifestyles. In addition to feature articles devoted to outdoor activity, it contains photography and literary pieces by award-winning photographers and writers. Also covers travel, sports, adventure, people, politics, the environment, art, literature.

Owl (Children's Area)
http://www.owlkids.com/owl/
OWL is loaded with fascinating articles and amazing facts for 9 to 13 yr olds. Each issue includes science behind how things work, quizzes, contests, and topics on everyday life. With breaking news stories and mind-boggling puzzles, it's a thought-provoking, entertaining place for kids to grow.

back to top

Parabola (Adult Area)
http://www.parabola.org/
Founded in 1976, Parabola is devoted to the exploration of the myths, symbols, rituals, and art of the world's religious and cultural traditions. Every issue explores one of the facets of human existence from the point of view of many world religions and spiritual traditions with essays and images.

Parents (Adult Area)
http://www.parents.com/
Parents is written and edited for women from 18 to 34, who have growing children. It focuses on family formation and growth including the daily needs and concerns of modern mothers. It also regularly features information about beauty, food, fashion, home, age specific child development and more.

PC Magazine (Adult Area)
http://www.pcmag.com/
This magazine is designed for buyers of PC software, peripherals and accessories. It is written to provide the information needed to identify brands of PC related products and help make those products more useful in business. Its features include extensive product reviews based on tests, productivity enhancement departments and opinion/analysis columns.

People (Adult Area)
http://people.aol.com/people
The editorial focus of this magazine is on the compelling personalities of today both famous and infamous, ordinary and extraordinary. It is a guide to who and what are hot in the arts, science, business, politics, television, movies, books, music and sports.

Popular Mechanics (Adult Area)
http://www.popularmechanics.com/
This is a service magazine covering a variety of issues of interest to men. It includes information on home improvement, automotive needs, electronics, computers, telecommunications, outdoors, fitness and science and technology. Each issue contains product evaluations, practical applications, how-to information and news of technological developments.

Popular Photography and Imaging (Adult Area)
http://www.popphoto.com/
Provides extensive analysis of new cameras and equipment, articles on techniques, and folios by leading photographers.

Popular Science (Adult Area)
http://www.popsci.com/popsci/
The "what's new" magazine of science and technology. Covers energy, new products for the home, work and leisure. Provides blueprints for projects and test reports on new cars, electronics and cameras.

Practical Homeschooling (Adult Area)
http://www.home-school.com/
Practical Homeschooling will bring you up to date on everything from preschool and reading to college prep. In-depth reviews and annual Awards for best products. Expert columnists, including Bill & Mary Pride. Plus, success stories, inspiration & contests with prizes!

Preschool Playroom (Children's Area)
[no website available]
Where Bear in the Big Blue House, Spot, Maisy, Mr. Potato Head, Paddington Bear and Peter Rabbit make learning fun. Perfect for preschoolers, each issue contains drawing, matching, counting, coloring and reading activities. A character poster, plus a 6 page pull-out workbook, are also included.

Prevention (Adult Area)
http://www.prevention.com
Presents practical information on health, nutrition, fitness and psychology. Articles are based research on published in professional journals, as well as interviews with medical authorities.

Psychology Today (Adult Area)
http://cms.psychologytoday.com/pto/home.php
The only magazine devoted to exploring human behavior is better than ever. From self-help to our relationships, from anxiety to parenting, this legendary and groundbreaking magazine covers it all. Because learning about yourself has never been this entertaining.

back to top

Quiltmaker (Adult Area)
http://www.quiltmaker.com/
Tips, techniques & patterns for today's quilters. Features include projects, lessons, and instructions for all interest levels and abilities.

Ranger Rick (Children's Area)
http://www.nwf.org/kidzone/kzPage.cfm?siteId=3
Ranger Rick is for children ages 7 and up. Each issue is packed full with amazing facts, stunning photos and outdoor adventures that help kids sharpen reading skills and develop a deeper appreciation for nature and the natural sciences. A Parent's Choice Gold Award recipient in 1999.

Readers Digest (Adult Area)
http://www.rd.com (Note: must be a Readers Digest member to access most website features)
This is a general-interest family magazine which offers a variety of reading. Its articles and stories cover a range of subjects including health, ecology, government, international affairs, sports, travel, science, business, education and humor.

Readers Digest Large Print (Adult Area)
[no website available]
In large print for easier reading. It's BIG and easier to read the world's most-read monthly magazine. This is a general-interest family magazine which offers a variety of reading. Its articles and stories cover a range of subjects including health, ecology, government, international affairs, sports, travel, science, business, education and humor.

Real Simple (Adult Area)
http://www.realsimple.com
Real Simple is the new magazine for the way you want to live today. You'll find actionable solutions to streamline the ways you manage your life. Systems for reducing clutter, saving time, and reducing stress. Inspiring ideas about home, food, money, clothes, health, work, family, and holidays.

Redbook (Adult Area)
http://www.redbookmag.com/
The editorial focus of this magazine is on young, working mothers. It seeks to help women who juggle a husband, family, home and job. Its feature articles deal with fashion, beauty and health, food and nutrition, parenting and relationships. Additionally, each issue offers fictional short stories and excerpts from longer fictional works.

Rolling Stone (Adult Area)
http://www.rollingstone.com
This magazine is compiled for young adults who have a special interest in popular culture. Its regular features cover state-of-the-art audio and electronics columns, record reviews, reader correspondence, interviews and photojournalism features.

Runners World (Adult Area)
http://www.runnersworld.com
Edited for the mature runner who takes his sport seriously. Articles on keeping in touch with the running world, upcoming events and helpful hints on the sport.

back to top

Saturday Evening Post (Adult Area)
http://www.satevepost.org/
Saturday Evening Post has something for the entire family. A magazine containing fiction, humor and graphic elements of interest of the American family. Includes articles on volunteerism, health, exercise, fitness, etc.

Science News (Adult Area)
http://www.sciencenews.org/
Each week the award winning Science News reports on the latest discoveries in astronomy, biology, behavior, math, physics, and much more, in an easy to scan format.

Scientific American (Adult Area)
[no website available]
This magazine is designed for technically educated professionals and managers who have a positive predisposition to read about, get involved with and act on a broad range of the physical and social sciences. Its articles and features anticipate what the breakthroughs and the news will be in a society increasingly dependent upon scientific and technological advances.

Scott Stamp Monthly (Adult Area)
[no web site]
The most comprehensive magazine for stamp collectors, and is useful to both beginner and expert.

Seventeen (Teen Area)
http://www.seventeen.com/
This is a young woman's premier style and beauty magazine. It is tailored for women in their late teens and early twenties and highlights information on fitness, food, cars, college, careers, talent, entertainment, fiction and crucial personal and global issues.

Shonen Jump (Teen Area)
http://www.shonenjump.com/
Why are Japanese animation, toys and video games so popular around the world? Because they're based on manga -- Japanese comics. The most popular manga magazine in Japan is Weekly Shonen Jump, the birthplace of the greatest artists and stories. Weekly Shonen Jump sells over 3.5 million copies every week, to ages ranging from elementary school students to adults--in a country with half the population of the U.S. Now, VIZ has brought SHONEN JUMP to the U.S., featuring the most popular comics from the original Japanese edition. Each issue of SHONEN JUMP contains over 300 pages of manga, plus artist interviews, card games, videogames, toys and anime information.

Simple & Delicious (Adult Area)
http://www.bestsimplerecipes.com/
imple & Delicious magazine is a great source for quick, easy recipes made with everyday ingredients. Every issue features more than 100 kitchen-tested recipes for family-friendly weekday and weekend meals! Each issue helps simplify dinner prep with regular features like “Shop Once…Eat All Week,” which includes a weeknight menu plan with a handy grocery list to eliminate last-minute shopping trips. You'll find 12 contest-winning reader favorites on handy clip-out recipe cards. Plus, all five of the meals in “30-Minute Menus” truly can be ready in half an hour.

Smart Computing (Adult Area)
http://www.smartcomputing.com/
Smart Computing is a monthly magazine devoted to helping users improve their productivity with personal computers. The magazine, founded in 1990 as PC Novice, emphasizes tutorial articles and plain-English writing that defines technical terminology.

Smart Money (Adult Area)
http://www.smartmoney.com
'Smart Money is a personal business magazine edited for discriminating investors, featuring practical and imaginative ideas for investing, spending, and saving. Articles and features provide action-oriented information on investment opportunities and pitfalls. Editorial asks tough questions about the big names and big businesses that affect important personal business decisions.' --from web site.

Smithsonian (Adult Area)
http://www.smithsonianmag.si.edu/
The Smithsonian covers and chronicles the arts, environment, sciences and popular culture of the times. Composed for modern, well-rounded individuals with diverse interests.

Spider (Children's Area)
[no website available]
'SPIDER magazine is a children's magazine filled with fun stories, poems, and activities perfectly pitched for newly independent readers and learners. It's specially written and edited for children who have reached that amazing age when they first get excited about reading on their own.' --from web site.

Spin (Teen Area)
http://www.spin.com/
'Spin gives you the edge on music and youth culture. From film, fashion, and art to politics and music-ska, pop, rock, hip hop, rap, and more.' --from web site.

Sports Illustrated (Adult Area)
http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/
'Every week SPORTS ILLUSTRATED gets you closer to the heart of sports with spectacular action photography and in-depth coverage. Experience the insider track as SI takes you into the minds and hearts of the players and coaches. With SPORTS ILLUSTRATED you Get Into It!' --from web site.

Sports Illustrated for Kids (Children's Area)
http://www.sikids.com/
'SPORTS ILLUSTRATED for KIDS magazine covers and highlights sports the way kids like it. Interviews with sports heroes. Hilarious comics. Awesome action photos and much, much more for the kid's mind and eye.' --from web site.

back to top

Taste of Home (Adult Area)
http://www.tasteofhome.com
Over 85 home-style recipes, including 32 clipout recipes per issue, plus helpful hints and cooking tips.

Teen Ink (Teen Area)
http://www.teenink.com/
'Teen Ink is a monthly print magazine, website, and a book series all written by teens for teens. There are over 16,000 pages of student writing on this site. We're now entering 17th year of publishing and look forward to many more!' --from web site.

Teen Voices (Teen Area)
http://www.teenvoices.com/tvhome.html
Addresses many issues such as sexism, racism, drug abuse and eating disorders through the voices of teenage girls around the country.

This Old House (Adult Area)
http://www.thisoldhouse.com/toh/magazines/0,16699,,00.html
Bursting with great ideas and expert tips and advice, This Old House magazine helps you uncover the full potential of your old or new home. Each issue is filled with the right combination of information and inspiration.

Time (Adult Area)
http://www.time.com/time/
TIME gives you more than just a weekly news summary. TIME provides insightful analysis of today's important events and what they mean to you and your family--from politics to scientific breakthroughs to human achievement. Plus, TIME helps you keep up with the arts, business, and society.

Turtle (Children's Area)
http://www.cbhi.org/magazines/turtle/
Turtle Magazine features colorful and entertaining stories and poems, perfect for reading aloud. Hidden pictures, dot-to-dots, and mazes challenge young minds. Easy recipes teach kids kitchen skills and nutrition facts. Ask Dr. Cory features the latest health information for parents and teachers.

back to top

US News & World Report (Adult Area)
http://www.usnews.com/usnews/home.htm
Focuses on news you can put to immediate, personal use with practical information on health, personal finance, careers and education. Shows how and why national and world events are important to its readers and offers a frame of reference for changes taking place throughout society and the world.

Us Weekly (Adult Area)
http://www.usmagazine.com/
Us Weekly magazine is a revealing, insider's look at all the trends and personalities important to the entertainment industry. Every weekly issue of Us Weekly brings you celebrities, gossip, photos, fashion and much more!

UTNE Reader (Adult Area)
http://www.utne.com/
Get a different read on life with Utne magazine. Utne magazine draws attention to ideas and issues not receiving attention in the mainstream media. Utne provides new perspectives on social change, environment, community, politics, and humor.

Vanity Fair (Adult Area)
http://www.vanityfair.com/
VANITY FAIR presents the issues, events and people that define the times. This chronicle of contemporary culture features art, entertainment, politics, business, and the media. Each issue includes in-depth reporting and profiles targeted to a young, affluent audience.

Vegetarian Times (Adult Area)
http://www.vegetariantimes.com/
Contains topics on vegetarian lifestyles, such as diet, fitness, cooking, health, consumer choices, natural foods, environmental concerns and animal welfare. Also includes meatless recipes, news, celebrity profiles, humor, product reviews, restaurant guides, book reviews and classifieds.

back to top

Wall Street Journal (Adult Area - Newspapers)
http://online.wsj.com/public/us
This daily newspaper publishes the latest in news from the business and finance world. Additionally, it strives to connect current domestic and international news events to business fluctuations and market changes. It also seeks to inform the educated reader about pressing economic changes and evolution.

Weight Watchers (Adult Area)
http://www.weightwatchers.com/index.aspx
Weight Watchers Magazine magazine is written for women committed to change and seeking a healthy lifestyle. It delivers advice on health, fitness, fashion, beauty and food, plus any other issues to develop healthy living.

Western Michigan Business Review (Adult Area)
http://mbusinessreview.com (general site)
A "business to business" weekly paper, which examines how manufacturing, banking, construction, commercial real estate and other industries affect business in western Michigan.

Womans Day (Adult Area)
http://www.womansday.com/
This magazine is edited for the contemporary woman in that it covers the various issues that are important to women today. It features articles devoted to information on food and nutrition, health and fitness, beauty and fashion as well as the traditional values of home, family and children.

Workbench (Adult Area)
http://www.workbenchmagazine.com/
Workbench provides guidance to home improvement and woodworking enthusiasts with ideas, tips and plans for beginners and experienced craftsman. Every issue features basic how-to information on home improvement, detailed plans and instructions for great woodworking projects, shop tips, information about the latest tools and products, and much more.

Writer (Adult Area)
http://www.writermag.com/
Today's best-selling writers discuss dialogue, plotting, characterization, suspense, romantic fiction; non-fiction writers cover interviewing, research, finding good subjects, how and when to query, turning personal experience into salable articles and books.

Writers Digest (Adult Area)
http://www.writersdigest.com/
For the writer at heart. Each issue focuses on the craft of writing, the tools and information for writing, and the markets for writing. Features examine how to write and sell magazine and newspaper articles, books, plays, poetry and scripts.

Zoobooks (Children's Area)
http://www.zoobooks.com/
Simply written and beautifully illustrated. Each monthly issue "captures" one of 60 different animals through magnificent photography, illustrations, diagrams, descriptions and includes interactive activity pages. Kids get "up close and personal" with the world's most amazing creatures.

back to top

BUSINESS & FINANCE
top

Barrons
Better Investing
Business Week
Enterprise
Fast Company
Forbes
Inc.
Kiplingers Personal Finance
Mi Biz Southwest
Money
Smart Money
Wall Street Journal
Western Michigan Business Review

CHILDREN'S INTEREST
top

American Girl
Babybug
Boys Life
Highlights
Kids Discover
Ladybug
National Geographic Kids
Nickleodeon
Owl
Preschool Playroom
Ranger Rick
Spider
Sports Illustrated for Kids
Turtle
Zoobooks

COOKING
top

Cooking Light
Cook's Illustrated
Eating Well
Healthy Cooking
Simple & Delicious
Taste of Home
Vegetarian Times
Weight Watchers

Magazines which also contain recipes:

Country Woman
Family Circle
Good Housekeeping
Ladies Home Journal
Real Simple
Redbook
Womans Day

CURRENT EVENTS
top

Christian Science Monitor
Detroit Free Press
Grand Rapids Press
Kalamazoo Gazette
Mother Jones
Nation
National Geographic
National Review
Newsweek
People
Saturday Evening Post
Scientific American
Science News
Teen Ink
Teen People
Teen Voices
Time
U.S. News & World Report
UTNE Reader
Wall Street Journal

ENTERTAINMENT

top

AAA Living / Michigan [travel]
Anime Insider [anime]
Bookmarks [reading]
Country Today [country music]
Deadly Pleasures [mystery fiction]
Electronic Gaming Monthly [video games]
Encore [local entertainment]
Entertainment Weekly [movies, TV, theater]
Mystery Scene [mystery fiction]
National Geographic Traveler [travel]
Rolling Stone [rock music]
Shonen Jump [anime]
Spin [pop music]

see also SPORTS

FAMILY & EDUCATION
top

Babybug
Crafts N Things
Family Fun
Kids Discover
Ladybug
Michigan History for Kids
National Geographic for Kids
Parents
Practical Homeschooling
Ranger Rick
Science News
Zoobooks

HEALTH
top

Body & Soul
Health
Men's Health
Nutrition Action Healthletter
Prevention
Psychology Today
Weight Watchers

HISTORY
top

American Heritage
Michigan History
Michigan History for Kids
Smithsonian

HOBBIES & SPECIAL INTEREST
top

Anime Insider [anime]
Bookmarks [reading]
Coins Monthly
Crafting Traditions [crafts]
Deadly Pleasures [mystery fiction]
Horticulture [gardening]
Hot Rod [automobiles]
Luxesto [Kalamazoo College]
Mystery Scene [mystery fiction]
Popular Mechanics
Popular Photography
Quiltmaker
Scott Stamp Monthly
Shonen Jump [anime]
Workbench [woodworking]
Writer [authorship]
Writers Digest [authorship]

HOME & GARDEN
top

Better Homes & Gardens
Birds & Blooms
Cottage Living
Country Living
Horticulture
Metropolitan Home
Mother Earth News
Popular Mechanics
Real Simple
This Old House
Workbench

inspirational
top Body & Soul
Christianity Today
Guideposts
Parabola
MEN & BOYS
top

Boys Life
Esquire
Field & Stream
Golf Digest
Hot Rod
In Fisherman
Mens Health
Motocross
Motor Trend
NASCAR Winston Cup Illustrated
Outdoor Life
Popular Mechanics
Sports Illustrated
Sports Illustrated for Kids
Workbench

NATURE, ANIMALS & GEOGRAPHY
top Audubon
Bird Talk
Birds & Blooms
Cat Fancy
Dog Fancy
Kids Discover
National Geographic
National Geographic for Kids
National Wildlife
Ranger Rick
Zoobooks
NEWSPAPERS
top Barrons
Christian Science Monitor
Detroit Free Press
Grand Rapids Press
Kalamazoo Gazette
MiBiz Southwest
Wall Street Journal
Western Michigan Business Review
READERS & WRITERS
top

Bookmarks
Deadly Pleasures
Mystery Scene
Readers Digest
Readers Digest Large Print
Teen Ink
Teen Voices
Writer
Writers Digest

SPORTS
top

Bicycling
Field & Stream
Golf Digest
Hot Rod
In Fisherman
Motor Trend
NASCAR Winston Cup Unlimited
Outdoor Life
Outside
Runners World
Sports Illustrated
Sports Illustrated for Kids

TEEN INTEREST
top

Anime Insider
Cosmo Girl
Electronic Gaming Monthly
Girls Life
Hot Rod
Mad
Rolling Stone
Seventeen
Shonen Jump
Spin
Teen Ink
Teen Voices

WOMEN & Girls
top

American Girl
Body & Soul
Brides
Cosmo Girl
Cosmopolitan
Country Woman
Family Circle
Family Fun
Girls Life
Good Housekeeping
Ladies Home Journal
O (Oprah Magazine)
Parents
Practical Homeschooling
Redbook
Seventeen
Teen Voices
Vanity Fair
Womans Day


last updated: January 2, 2008
http://www.parchmentlibrary.org
Questions or comments about this website: webmaster@parchmentlibrary.org