medicare plan d : a pcl pathfinder

 

QUICK JUMP TO: WEB SITES | LOCAL RESOURCES | BOOKS | SUBJECT HEADINGS | RELATED RESOURCES

WEB SITES

top

Michigan Medicare/Medicaid Assistance Program
http://www.mymmap.org/index.php
Phone: 1-800-803-7174
Since 1984, MMAP (Michigan Medicare/Medicaid Assistance Program) has provided free education and personalized assistance to people with Medicare and Medicaid, their families and caregivers.

Center for Medicare Advocacy
http://www.medicareadvocacy.org/
Toll-free phone: (800) 262-4414
The Center for Medicare Advocacy, Inc., founded in 1986, is a national non-partisan education and advocacy organization that identifies and promotes policy and advocacy solutions to ensure that elders and people with disabilities have access to Medicare and quality health care. The Center for Medicare Advocacy's national office is in Connecticut , with offices throughout the country, including Washington, DC.

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
http://www.cms.hhs.gov/
CMS site has information on eligibility and coverage with Medicare, Medicaid, SCHIP (State Children's Health Insurance Program), HIPPA (Health Insurance Portability Accountability Act), and more.

Medicare.gov
http://www.medicare.gov/
Toll-free phone: (800) 633-4227
The official Federal government website for Medicare.
For the "2006 Medicare & You" brochure, go to http://www.medicare.gov/publications/pubs/pdf/10050.pdf. [Note: this is a PDF file, and requires Adobe Acrobat Reader. If you don't have Acrobat Reader on your computer, click here for a free download.]

Michigan Department of Community Health : Medicaid
http://www.michigan.gov/mdch/1,1607,7-132-2943_4860---,00.html
Information for Michigan residents on eligibility, health care coverage, long-term care, HIV-AIDS, and more.

Social Security Association : Help with Prescription Drug Costs
http://www.ssa.gov/prescriptionhelp/
This site helps citizens determine if they qualify for help with prescription drug costs.

LOCAL RESOURCES
top

PAMPHLETS FROM THE GOVERNMENT PRINTING OFFICE:

We try to keep a supply of these pamphlets at the library. They are free, but cost $2.00 shipping per order. If you wish to order a copy, either phone 1.888.878.3256 and give the title(s) and publication number(s) of the brochure(s) you want, or order online at www.pueblo.gsa.gov.

To read the following brochure online, just click on the title.

New Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage : Extra Help for People with Limited Incomes (#520N) Gives the income and asset limits you must meet in order to qualify.


ADULT PROTECTIVE SERVICES : KALAMAZOO COUNTY : MICHIGAN DEPT. OF HUMAN SERVICES

322 E Stockbridge
Kalamazoo MI 49001

Phone: (General Information) 269-337-4900
Medicaid Hotline: 1-800-642-3195
Fax: 269-337-5179
Hours: Mon-Fri 8:00 am - 5:00 pm

Walk-in application for public assistance. Other services by appointment. Services include assistance in applying for Medicaid. (To apply for Medicare benefits, see the Social Security Administration below.)


SOCIAL SECURITY ADMINISTRATION

5349 W. Main Street
Kalamazoo MI 49009


Phone: 269-381-2313
TTY for deaf & hard-of-hearing: 269-381-9046
Fax: 269-381-9119
Website: http://www.ssa.gov
Hours: Mon-Fri 9:00 am-4:00 pm

Toll-free phone: 800-772-1213
Social Security has a toll-free number that operates from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., Monday through Friday. If you have a touch-tone phone, recorded information and services are available 24 hours a day, including weekends and holidays. People who are deaf or hard of hearing may call the SSA toll-free TTY number, 1-800-325-0778 , between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. on Monday through Friday. Please have your Social Security number handy when you call.

Services include supplemental security income and medicare health insurance to senior citizens and the disabled. Receives applications for benefits. Maintains listing of participating physicians in the medicare program.


KALAMAZOO COUNTY AREA AGENCY ON AGING

Area Agency on Aging Region IIIA
3299 Gull Road
P.O. Box 42
Nazareth MI 49074-0042

Website: http://www.kalcounty.com/aaa/

Phone: 269-373-5147

The Area Agency on Aging Region IIIA provides leadership and advocacy regarding aging issues on behalf of older persons in Kalamazoo County and funding for a network of in-home and community support services.  Persons age 60 and older are eligible to receive Older Americans Act and Older Michiganians Act services regardless of their income or assets, although emphasis is placed on helping older adults who have the greatest economic or social need. The main goal is to provide quality services that enable older persons to continue living independently in their own homes or chosen places of residence, for as long as possible.


SENIOR SERVICES, INC.

918 Jasper Street/Joseph J. Dunnigan Parkway
Kalamazoo, MI 49001

Website: http://www.seniorservices1.org/

List of Friendship Centers in the Kalamazoo area : http://www.seniorservices1.org/friendshipcenterspage.htm

Phone: 269-382-0515

Senior Services goal is to keep older adults in their own homes, living independently and safely, with dignity for as long as possible. For over four decades our organization has been dedicated to the well being of older adults in Southern Lower Michigan.  Our unique model of service delivery allows us to meet almost any need an older adult would have

BOOKS
top

American Bar Association legal guide for older Americans : the law every American over fifty needs to know. New York : Times Books, 1997.
346.7301 AME

American guidance for seniors...and their caregivers by Ken Skala. Falls Church, VA : G&S, 1996.
344.73 SKA

The elder law handbook : a legal and financial survival guide for caregivers and seniors by Peter J. Strauss and Nancy M. Lederman. New York : Facts on File, 1996.
346.7301 STR

Johns Hopkins consumer guide to drugs by Stephen and Simeon Margolis. new York : Rebus, 2002.
REF 615.1 JOH

Medicare and you 2000. Baltimore, MD : US Dept. of Health & Human Services, 1999.
REF 368.43 UNI

The Medicare answer book by Connacht Cash. Provincetown, MA : Race Point Press, 1997.
368.4 CAS

The PDR family guide to prescription drugs. 6th ed. New York : Three Rivers Press, 1998.
REF 615.1 PDR

Physician's Desk Reference. 57th ed. Montvale, NJ : Medical Economics Co., 2003.
REF 615.1 PHY 2003

SUBJECT HEADINGS
top

Aged--Legal status, laws, etc.
Aged--Medical care--Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Drugs
Insurance, Health--Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Legal assistance to the aged.
Medicare--Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Pharmacology

RELATED RESEARCH GUIDES
top

Senior Services [coming soon]


last updated: August 21, 2008
http://www.parchmentlibrary.org
Questions or comments about this website: webmaster@parchmentlibrary.org