Science Experiments : A PCL Pathfinder

Looking to score an “A” on your science project this year? Look no further than the books and Web sites listed below. Find great ideas and instructions on how to build the best science experiment ever! This guide introduces researchers to some of the basic informational sources on the topic. The terms and phrases listed in the subject headings below can be used to search for more materials in the library's catalog and research databases. If you need further assistance, please ask a librarian.


Quick Jump to: BOOKS | WEB SITES | SUBJECT HEADINGS | RELATED RESEARCH GUIDES
BOOKS
top

The Complete Handbook of Science Fair Projects by Julianne Blair Bochinski and Judy J. Bochinski-DiBiase. Hoboken , NJ : J. Wiley, 2004. ISBN: 0471460435.
Discusses various aspects of science fair projects including advice on choosing a topic, doing research, developing experiments, organizing data results, and presenting a project to the judges.
TEEN 507.8 BOC

Janice VanCleave's Guide to More of the the Best Science Fair Projects by Janice Pratt VanCleave. New York : Wiley, 2000. ISBN: 0471326275.
Learn how to develop a topic from any idea, and find out the best ways to create, assemble, and present projects—including special tips on how to display them. Project ideas from astronomy and biology to chemistry, math, and engineering.
J 507.8 VAN

Nature projects on file / the Diagram Group.-- New York : Facts on File, 1992.
Filled with 73 completely original, inexpensive science experiments and classroom activities, Nature Projects On File ™ actually gets students out into the environment—digging soil, tracking animal life, measuring rainwater, and dating trees. This exciting resource lets kids explore the natural world from the ground up, teaching scientific concepts along the way.
J REF 507.2 SCI

Science Experiments on File. 2 vols. New York : Facts On File, 2000. ISBN: 08160039984.
Provides substantial coverage of subjects in all the scientific disciplines studied in schools, from biology and chemistry to Earth science, physics, and more. Loose-leaf publication includes hundreds of illustrations. Volume 1 contains Earth science, weather, space, and biology; volume 2 contains chemistry and physics.
J REF 507.2 SCI

Super Sensational Science Fair Projects by Michael A. Dispezio and Derek Toye. New York : Sterling , 2003. ISBN: 0806944099.
Includes science fair projects for elementary and junior high school students.
J 507.8 DIS

For a list of more books see the science fair organizer located at http://school.discovery.com/sciencefaircentral/scifairstudio/resources.html.

WEB SITES

top

Bunsen Bob's Science Hunt
www.sciencehunt.com
Offers science projects and experiments for grades up to 8th and 9–12th. Includes ideas, instructions, and the best ways to display your projects.

California State Science Fair
www.usc.edu/CSSF/
This site highlights the final science fair of the academic year for students throughout the State of California in grades 6–12th. Includes information about previous science fairs.

IPL: Science Fair Project Resource Guide
www.ipl.org/div/kidspace/projectguide/
Explains the scientific methods, how to create a great science project and links to other Web sites.

Science Fair Central
http://school.discovery.com/sciencefaircentral/
Guide to science projects included project ideas and lists of Web sites and books to help you along the way.

Science Fair Project Ideas: Earthquakes
http://earthquake.usgs.gov/4kids/sciencefair.html
Ideas for science projects that are about earthquakes.

What Makes a Good Science Fair Project?
www.usc.edu/CSSF/Resources/Good_Project.html
From the California State Science Fair Judging Policy Advisory Committee.

SUBJECT HEADINGS
top science—exhibitions—handbooks, manuals, etc.
science—experiments
science projects—handbooks, manuals, etc.
science projects—juvenile literature
RELATED RESEARCH GUIDES
top

Research Tools


last updated: January 11, 2006
http://www.parchmentlibrary.org
Questions or comments about this website: webmaster@parchmentlibrary.org