Test Preparation: A PCL Pathfinder

We all take tests at some time in our lives. Perhaps we need to take an exam to enter school or a higher level of education like college or graduate school, or even law school. Some of us must past exams to enter into a new occupation or continue on in our current careers for certification. Below you will find some books and Web sites that will help prepare you for your next exam. This guide introduces researchers to some of the basic informational sources on the topic. The terms and phrases listed in the subject headings below can be used to search for more materials in the library's catalog and research databases. If you need further assistance, please ask a librarian.


Quick Jump to:

LEARNING EXPRESS LIBRARY

WEB SITES

TEST CATEGORIES

TEST PREPARATION COMPANIES

SUBJECT HEADINGS

RELATED RESEARCH GUIDES

LEARNING EXPRESS LIBRARY
top

LearningExpress Library (formerly LearnATest)
LearningExpress Library provides excellent online resources for test preparation and skill-building practice. The practice tests, based on the official exams and developed by education experts, can help you master the essential skills needed to succeed on standardized tests and in your career. The LearningExpress Library program includes:

  • Unlimited access to all of the free online practice exams in your library's plan
  • An instant score report with detailed answer explanations so you can understand why certain answers are right and others are wrong
  • A customized analysis to determine your strengths and weaknesses
  • Personalized recommendations

Go to http://mel.org

In the MeL Databases window, select either "See databases from home" or "See databases from the library."

If you select "See databases from home," you will need to log in using your Michigan Driver's License or State ID.

Once you see the list of databases, scroll down and select the "LearningExpress Library" link and follow this set up:

  1. Select New User (you can enter your email address and choose a password) or
  2. Returning User (you will need to enter your email address and password)
  3. Scroll down and select any of the practice tests
  4. When finished, remember to sign out (at top of pages)
WEB SITES

top

ACT Assessment
www.act.org/aap/index.html
This site details the ACT, which is designed to assess high school students' general educational development and their ability to complete college-level work.

College Board
www.collegeboard.com
Provides information on test sponsored by the College Board including the SAT (Scholastic Aptitude Test), PSAT/NMSQT (Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test), AP (Advanced Placement Program), and CLEP (College Level Examination Program).

Graduate Record Examinations (GRE)
www.gre.org
Helps to prepare you for taking the GRE.

Law School Admission Council
www.lsat.org
A nonprofit corporation whose members are 202 law schools in the United States and Canada . Administers the Law School Admission Test (LSAT).

LibrarySpot: Where to Prepare for the Big Test
www.libraryspot.com/features/testprepfeature.htm
Offers an overview of test preparation and links to further resources.

Number2.com
www.number2.com
Provides free practice tests for the ACT, SAT, GRE, and vocabulary builder.

PBS's Secrets of the SAT
www.pbs.org/wgbh/pages/frontline/shows/sats/
This report draws on the work of Nicholas Lemann and his five-year study of the SAT— The Big Test: The

TEST CATEGORIES
  Below are just some of the test titles or categories that require testing. Use these terms when accessing our card catalog, the MEL catalog, or as search terms on the Internet.
top

ACT (College Entrance Exams)
AP (Advanced Placement Program)
basic skills
Civil Service
CLEP (College Level Examination Program)
Cosmetology
EMS (Emergency Medical Services)
Firefighter
GED (General Equivalency Degree)
Graduate School Entrance Exams
Health Careers
High School Skills Improvement
Law Enforcement
Math Skills Improvement
Middle School Skills Improvement
Military

Nursing
Reading Skills Improvement
Real Estate
Skills Improvement Courses
Skills Improvement Courses with Spanish Instructions
Teaching
Technical and Career College Skills
TOEFL (Test of English as a Foreign Language) Preparation
U.S. citizenship
TEST PREPARATION COMPANIES
top

Writing Skills Improvement Barron's Test Preparation
www.barronstestprep.com
Publishes, for a fee, both online and print preparatory examinations for PSAT, SAT, and ACT tests.

Kaplan Test Prep and Admissions
www.kaptest.com
Publishes, for a fee, both online and print preparatory examinations for college, graduate school, civil service and military careers, and occupations.

Peterson's
www.petersons.com
Publishes, for a fee, both online and print preparatory examinations for college, graduate school, civil service and military careers, and occupations. Also includes college and tuition research. Also publishes titles with the Arco imprint.

Princeton Review
www.princetonreview.com
Publishes, for a fee, both online and print preparatory examinations for college, graduate school, civil service and military careers, and occupations. Also includes college searches and test registration.

SUBJECT HEADINGS
top

You may find these subject headings useful when accessing our card catalog, the MEL catalog, or other online sources.

accounting—examinations, questions, etc.
admission test
civil service—United States—examinations
computer networks—examinations—study guides
entrance examination
general educational development tests—study guides
high school equivalency examinations—study guides
postal service—United States—employees
postal service—United States—examinations, questions, etc.
study guides

RELATED RESEARCH GUIDES
top

College Search
Job Hunting & Careers


last updated: September 15, 2008
http://www.parchmentlibrary.org
Questions or comments about this website: webmaster@parchmentlibrary.org