Travel Information: A PCL Pathfinder

Create your custom dream vacation, search for travel bargains, or simply read a travel guide. Travel the world from the comfort of your home computer. The materials listed below allow you to interact with other travelers who have “been there, done that” and also allow you to purchase your trip online. This guide introduces researchers to some of the basic informational sources on the topic. The terms and phrases listed in the subject headings below can be used to search for more materials in the library's catalog and research databases. If you need further assistance, please ask a librarian.


QUICK JUMP TO:

BUDGET TRAVEL

EXPLORE MICHIGAN!

EXPLORE CHICAGO!


GENERAL GUIDEBOOKS


MAGAZINES


ONLINE BOOKING


TRAVEL BY AIR


TRAVEL BY BUS

TRAVEL BY RAIL


WEB SITES


SUBJECT HEADINGS

BUDGET TRAVEL
 

BUDGET TRAVEL GUIDEBOOKS:

America's Best Cheap Sleeps / by Tracy Whitcombe. Features only the best motels and other inexpensive lodgings across America. Every state is covered. Each listing tells readers whether there's a TV, pool, restaurant, if pets are accepted, and any amenities or special features.
910.202 WHI

Encyclopedia of Cheap Travel / by Terrance Zepke. Information on family attractions, age-appropriate guidelines, kid-friendly restaurants and places to stay.
910.202 ZEP

Guerrilla Travel Tactics: Hundreds of Simple Strategies Guaranteed to Save Road Warriors Time and Money / by Jay Conrad Levinson and Theo Brandt-Sarif. Great bargain-finding tips, especially for the frequent or business traveler.
910.202 LEV

Make Your Travel Dollars Worth a Fortune: The Contrarian Traveler's Guide to Getting More for Less / by Tim Leffel. Learn to save money by traveling to inexpensive destinations, during the off- and shoulder seasons, taking advantage of seasonal pricing, and more.
910.46 LEF

Practical Nomad: How to Travel Around the World / by Edward Hasbrouck. An essential guide to independent world travel.
910.202 HAS

Rick Steves' Best of Europe / by Rick Steves. The popular TV travel host offers advice on how to make the most of your European vacation.
914 STE

Secret Hotels: Extraordinary Values in the World's Most Stunning Destinations / by Erik Torkells. Hotels selected by the editors of Budget Travel at eith destinations: Provence, Tuscany, Tahiti, Carribbean, Costa Rica, Cornwall, Bali and the French Riviera.
910.202 TOR

Smart Traveler's Passport: 399 Tips from Seasonsed Travelers / by Erik Torkells. Culled from Budget Travel magazine's reader-contributed "20 Tips" column.
910.202 TOR

World's Cheapest Destinations: 21 Countries Where Your Money is Worth a Fortune / by Tim Leffel. Arranged by country, this guide provides information on prices for accommodations, dining, transportation, and more.
910.202 LEF


WEBSITES FOR BUDGET TRAVEL:

www.backpackeurope.com and www.eurotrip.com Loads of information for the budget-minded backpacker.

www.bootsnall.com A site dedicated to independent travelers, including travel guides, tips, and booking information.

www.budgettravel.com Sister site to "Arthur Frommer's Budget Travel" magazine.

www.eurocheapo.com Helpful reviews of budget European hotels, with some city guide information.

www.hihostels.com Hostelling International's global booking site for member hostels, including family hostels. Also links to Rail International.

www.kayak.com This search engine looks for the cheapest airfares as well as the lowest hotel, car rental, and cruise rates across 140 travel sites.

www.realtravel.com An online community for travelers to find and share tips, with information on deals, hotels, and dining.

www.reidsguides.com Travel author Reid Bramblett's award-winning trip-planning site, with articles and travel tips covering world-wide destinations.

www.ricksteves.com For 30 years Rick Steves has taught smart European travel. This website — like his guidebooks, TV series and radio program — is dedicated to exactly that.

EXPLORE MICHIGAN!
top

MICHIGAN TRAVEL GUIDEBOOKS:

Explore Michigan : An Insider's Guide to Michigan (Series) by George Cantor. What to do and see, where to eat, stay, and shop, history, etc.

  • Detroit / 917.7434 CAN
    Leelanau / 917.7463 CAN
    Little Traverse Bay / 917.7488 CAN
    Mackinac / 917.7492 CAN
    Traverse City / 917.74635 CAN

Fun with the Family : Michigan : hundreds of ideas for day trips with the kids : Insider's Guide / by Bill Semion. Information on family attractions, age-appropriate guidelines, kid-friendly restaurants and places to stay.
917.74 SEM

Lighthouses of Michigan / by Bruce Roberts and Ray Jones. Includes descriptions of each lighthouse, with driving directions and GPS coordinates, historical background notes, and more.
917.74 ROB

Lonely Planet Road Trip :Lake Michigan : Sailing, Swimming, Hiking and Cycling; Charming Villages, Quiet Islands, Sandy Beaches and Leafy Forests; Handy Fold-out Maps / by Jim DuFresne.
917.74 DUF

Michigan : Fodor's Compass American Guides / by Dixie Franklin. Includes landscape and history, what to see and do, festivals, travel tips, and more.
917.74 FRA

Michigan Vacation Guide : Cottages, Chalets, Condos, B&B's / edited by Kathleen R. Tedsen. For those who don't wish to stay in a hotel or motel; organized by region and city.
917.74 MIC

Michigan's West Coast : Explore the Shore Guide ; A Journey to 500 Public Parks and Points of Access Along the Lake Michigan Shore / by Jim Hutchins.
917.74 HUT

Off the Beaten Path : Michigan : A Guide to Unique Places / by Jim DuFresne. Explore the Great Lakes State you never new existed!
917.74 DUF

Quick Escapes : Detroit : 26 Weekend Getaways from the Motor City / by Khristi Sigurdson Zimmeth. A guide for Detroit residents looking for a weekend getaway. Covers all of Michigan, Chicago, and northern Indiana.
917.74 MIC


WEBSITES FOR MICHIGAN TRAVEL:

http://travel.michigan.org (General information)

www.travelmichigan.com (General information)

www.wmta.org (West Michigan Tourist Association)

http://www.uptravel.com/ (Upper Penninsula)

For what to see and do in the Kalamazoo area, go to the Community Resources pathfinder.

EXPLORE CHICAGO!
top

CHICAGO TRAVEL GUIDEBOOKS:

Chicago for Dummies / by Laura Tiebert. Down-to-earth trip-planning advice, what not to miss, best hotels and restaurants for every budget.
917.7311 TIE

Cool Restaurants : Chicago / edited by Michele Galindo. Photographic survey of the newest and trendiest Chicago restaurants, with recipes.
917.7311 COO

Eyewitness Travel Top 10 Chicago / by Elaine Glusac. The very best Chicago has to offer is profiled in dozens of "top 10" lists, from the best skyscrapers to great jazz and blues joints to popular museums and events.
917.7311 GLU

Fodor's Around Chicago with Kids : 68 Great Things To Do Together / by Nancy Maes. Includes age-appropriateness ratings, admissions, phone numbers and web sites, insider tips.
917.7311 MAE

Fodor's Citypack : Chicago's 25 Best / by Mick Sinclair. Includes top 25 attractions plus best buildings old and new, best museums and galleries, best baseball experiences, best shopping by a mile, best jazz and Jazz Age haunts, best deep-dish pizzarias.
917.7311 SIN

Frommer's Chicago Day by Day : 17 Smart Ways to See the City / by Laura Tiebert. Includes: The best full-day tours -- The best special-interest tours -- The best neighborhood walks -- The best shopping -- The best of the outdoors -- The best dining -- The best nightlife -- The best arts & entertainment -- The best hotels -- The best day trips & excursions.
917.7311 TIE

Frommer's Chicago with Kids / by Laura Tiebert. Includes age ranges for each attraction and activity, hotels that offer cribs and rollaway beds, restaurants with kids' menus, words of wisdom on safety in the city.
917.7311 TIE

Museums of Chicago : A Guide for Residents and Visitors / by Susan I. Phillips.
917.7311 PHI

Off the Beaten Path : Chicago : A Guide to Unique Places / by Cliff Terry. Unusual places to visit and dine in the Windy City.
917.7311 TER

Zagat Survey : 2005/06 Chicago Restaurants. Ratings of Chicago restaurants based on consumer surveys / edited by Alice Van Housen.
917.7311 ZAG


WEBSITES FOR CHICAGO TRAVEL:

http://www.chicagotraveler.com

http://www.chicagotours.us

GENERAL GUIDEBOOKS
top

Many guidebooks are available titled by travel destination and offer listings, ratings, and evaluations of accommodations, restaurants, and attractions. Some of the titles include Fodor's, Frommer's, Lonely Planet, and AAA guides. Many have accompanying Web sites like those listed below.

Fodor's: www.fodors.com
Frommer's: www.frommers.com
Let's Go!: www.letsgo.com
Lonely Planet: www.lonelyplanet.com
Rough Guides: http://travel.roughguides.com

We have a good selection of travel guides in print! In addition to guides for nation- and world-wide destinations, we have a strong collection of travel books for our local area, including Michigan and Chicago.

Complete Travel Detective Bible: The Consummate Insider Tells You What You Need to Know in an Increasingly Complex World! / by Peter Greenberg. Do you want to know which airline seats are the best and worst? How you can vacation in a lighthouse, a monastery, or even a converted prison? Which countries won't let you in even if you have a valid passport? Which airlines are the worst "bumping" offenders? Which overcharge for excess baggage? How you can avoid hidden fees at your next hotel? The Complete Travel Detective Bible offers up answers to these questions and much more.
910.202 GRE

Fodor's 1001 Smart Travel Tips / by Fodor's Travel Publications. Fodor’s well-traveled writers and editors have acquired their travel savvy the hard way. And with this book in hand, no one else has to. Fodor’s 1001 Smart Travel Tips expertly guides all kinds of travelers -- from the moment they start planning until the day they return home.
910.202 FOD

How To Travel Practically Anywhere / by Susan Stellin. This book covers all aspects of trip planning: from deciding when and where to go to navigating the path along the way. Also includes information on solo travel, travel insurance, last-minute planning, government travel advisories, web fares, home-exchange information, and more; she also includes a helpful section on what to do in an emergency when you need a doctor or have lost your passport.
910.202 STE

Packing Book: Secrets of the Carry-on Traveler / by Judith Gilford. The definitive guide to packing efficiently, with time-saving tips and techniques to ensure you arrive at your destination prepared and comfortable. Addresses new carry-on security concerns and guidelines, including what you can and cannot take on the plane, as well as tips on moving through security quickly and smoothly. Updated resources on where to shop for travel accessories and gadgets, and clothing for men, women, and children.
910.2 GIL

Rick Steves' Europe Through the Back Door: Travel Skills Handbook / by Rick Steves. From train and rail pass skills to strategies for visiting open-air folk museums, this guide shows visitors what they really need when traveling through Europe.
914 STE

MAGAZINES
top

Condé Nast's Traveler. New York : Condé Nast, 1966– . Monthly. ISSN: 08939683.
www.concierge.com/cntraveler/
Focus to provide the experienced traveler an array of diverse travel experiences encompassing art, architecture, fashion, culture, cuisine, and shopping.
[Library does not subscribe to this magazine -- please refer to the web site]

National Geographic Traveler. Washington , DC : National Geographic Society, 1984– . Bimonthly. ISSN: 07470932.
http://www.nationalgeographic.com/traveler/
Focuses on domestic and foreign destinations, personal travel reflections, food and restaurants, great places to stay, photography, trends, adventure, ecotourism, road trips, cultural events, and travelers.

Travel & Leisure. New York , American Express, 1941– . Monthly. ISSN: 00412007.
www.travelandleisure.com
Provides useful travel tips, off-the-beaten-path itineraries, the best hotels and restaurants, and recommendations for the next great place to visit—and how to get there.
[Library does not subscribe to this magazine -- please refer to the web site]

ONLINE BOOKING
top

In addition to registering directly at an airline, hotel, or rental car Web site, the following Web sites provide a full array of online booking services:

Expedia.com
www.expedia.com
Flights, hotels, cars, package deals, and cruises. Use the Fare Tracker to receive e-mail when your cities of interest go on sale.

CheapTickets.com
http://www.cheaptickets.com
Offers discount fares on hotels, airfare, cruises, and travel packages.

Hotwire.com
http://www.hotwire.com
Offers discount fares on hotels, airfare, cruises, and travel packages.

Lowestfare.com
www.lowestfare.com
Offers discount fares on hotels, airfare, cruises, and travel packages. Also offers last minute specials, online booking, and toll-free customer service telephone number.

Onetravel.com
http://www.onetravel.com
Search for low airfares, discount hotel deals, car rental specials, and vacation packages and specials.

Orbitz.com
http://www.orbitz.com
Offers discount fares on hotels, airfare, cruises, and travel packages.

Priceline.com
http://www.priceline.com/
Search for discount airfares, hotels, car rentals, and vacation packages, or offer your own price.

Travelocity.com
www.travelocity.com
24-hour customer service via toll-free telephone line. Provides best deals on lodging, flights, car rentals, rail passes, vacation packages, and cruises. Offers Farewatcher service via e-mail. E-mail notification when your preferred destinations goes on sale.

TRAVEL BY AIR
top

Airline Punctuality
http://www.bts.gov/programs/airline_information/airline_ontime_statistics
To find out how likely you are to encounter a delay with your airline, check data from the Bureau of Transportation Statistics.

Airport and City Code Converter
http://codes.managementreporting.com
Have a three-letter airport code and you're not sure of its location? Enter either the letter code to find out the location, current weather, and brief statistics on the airport.

Airport Security Checkpoint Wait Time
http://waittime.tsa.dhs.gov/index.html
Security checkpoint wait time information from the Transportation Security Administration (TSA) to help you plan your trip. The wait times are based on historical data, so your actual wait time may vary.

Aiport Security -- What to Take and What Not to Take
http://www.tsa.gov/travelers/airtravel/prohibited/permitted-prohibited-items.shtm
This is the Travel Security Administration's official list of items that air travellers are allowed or prohobited from packing in carry-on luggage.

Airport Status (Real-Time)
http://www.fly.faa.gov/flyfaa/usmap.jsp
The Air Traffic Control System Command Center (ATCSCC) Real-time Airport Status page lists the real-time delay status of all airports in the United States -- delays of 15 minutes or less, 15-45 minutes, 45 or more minutes, closed, or ground-delay. It does not track the status of individual flights -- see Flight Arrivals or Flight Tracker below.

Airports of the world / Hotelstravel.com
http://www.hotelstravel.com/airports.html
Links to all airports; listed by country.

Airports of the world / Worldairportguide.com
http://www.worldairportguide.com
Guide to official websites for airports in 200 countries. Information in English, French, German and Spanish.

Flight Arrivals
www.flightarrivals.com
Independent source of information for arrivals, departures, and delays for U.S. and Canadian flights.

Flight Tracker
http://www.flightview.com
Track a flight with this real-time monitor that shows the flight path on a map, along with the aircraft's altitude, speed and estimated arrival time. Useful when planning to meet a friend at an airport.

Seat Guru
http://www.seatguru.com
You'll find ratings of each individual seat on the planes of about 20 different airlines.  If legroom, reclinability, noise, and laptop power ports are important factors for you, pay a visit to SeatGuru. [Review from www.tourbus.com]

TRAVEL BY RAIL
top

South Shore Line
http://www.nictd.com/
Northern Indiana Commuter Transportation District (owner and operator of the South Shore Line). Linking Michigan City and South Bend with Chicago.

Amtrak
http://www.amtrak.com
Serving the lower third of the lower Penninsula of Michigan, and the rest of the country via the Chicago hub. For a direct link to the Kalamazoo station, click here.

TRAVEL BY BUS
top

Greyhound
http://www.greyhound.com/
Nationwide service. For a route map, click here.

Indian Trails
http://www.indiantrails.com/
Serving the state of Michigan and beyond. For a route map, click here. (Map requires Acrobat Reader)

WEB SITES

top

About.com Travel
http://www.about.com/travel/
Info on air travel, Bed & Breakfasts, hotels, resorts, cruises, theme parks and traveling with children. Also includes guides to popular travel destinations, countries, states, and cities.

BedandBreakfast.com
http://www.bedandbreakfast.com
Search and view thousands of bed and breakfasts from around the United States . Includes pictures, descriptions, rates, and online booking information.

CDC Travelers' Health
http://wwwn.cdc.gov/travel/default.aspx
Outlines potential hazards by destination. Lists known diseases and required vaccinations. Also offers tips on traveling with children outside of the United States , cruise and air travel, food and water precautions.

Cruise 2
http://www.cruise2.com/
Cruise2.com is a "Not-for-Profit" website created and designed to help visitors find the best Cruise at the best price with no sales pressure or bias. We charge nothing for our services, accept no money, and put you in touch with the Line or Agent to deal with directly. At Cruise2.com you will find:   - Links to all major cruise sites  - Over 5,000 pages of cruise and cruise ship information - A free buy and sell platform - and much more ...

Cruise Reviews
http://www.cruisereviews.com/
Cruise reviews , cruising, port reviews and cruise discussion boards , is what CruiseReviews.com is all about. Join the thousands of people that make up our cruise community and share cruise ship and port reviews and information. Enjoy your visit to CruiseReviews.com and why not write a review of your next cruise to share with our community?

Festival Finder
http://www.festivalfinder.com/
Welcome to FestivalFinder , where you'll discover the latest details on more than 2,500 music festivals in North America. Click to your favorite genre, or use the search feature to locate festivals by date, location, performers or festival name. Remember, FestivalFinder changes every day-so be sure to come back often!

Great Outdoor Recreation Pages
http://www.gorp.com
Provides information on outdoor and active travel including hiking, birding, climbing, fishing, and much more. Find dude ranches and book custom vacations.

Maps - Google.com
http://maps.google.com
With Google Maps, you'll enjoy the following unique features: Draggable maps – Click and drag maps to view adjacent sections immediately (no long waits for new areas to download). Satellite imagery – View a satellite or aerial image of your desired location that you can zoom and pan. Integrated search results – Find business locations and contact information all in one location. For example, if you search for [pizza in San Jose], locations of relevant listings appear on your map, and their phone numbers appear alongside. Detailed directions – Enter an address and let Google Maps plot the location and/or driving directions for you. Click any part of the driving directions to see a magnified map or satellite image of that part of the route.

Maps - Mapquest.com
http://www.mapquest.com/
Free easy-to-read online maps, driving directions and destination info you can view, print, or download to a wireless device. The RoadTrip Planner also helps travelers find restaurants, ATMs, entertainment and attractions along the route.

Maps - Yahoo.com
http://maps.yahoo.com
Free online maps and point-to-point driving directions. Interactive maps allow you to pan and zoom for detail on any portion of the trip.  The total distance and approximate travel time are also displayed.

Roadside America
http://www.roadsideamerica.com/
Roadsideamerica.com is chock-full of odd and hilarious travel destinations -- over 5,000 places -- ready for exploration. Since our first book, Roadside America, introduced readers to the world of offbeat tourist attractions nearly 20 years ago, we (authors Doug Kirby, Ken Smith, Mike Wilkins) haven't slowed down. In fact, we're speeding up! Or maybe it's just an optical illusion...

Tourism Office Worldwide Directory
http://www.towd.com/
The Tourism Offices Worldwide Directory is your guide to official tourist information sources: government tourism offices, convention and visitors bureaus, chambers of commerce, and similar organizations that provide free, accurate, and unbiased travel information to the public. Businesses such as travel agents, tour operators, and hotels are not included.

Travel Information
http://www.travelinformation.com/
In business for 20 years, and online since 1996, this site offers free official tourism guides and kits from tourism bureaus and cities.

Travel Warnings and Consular Information Sheets
http://travel.state.gov/travel/cis_pa_tw/tw/tw_1764.html
View travel warnings, public announcements relating to terrorist threats, and consular information sheets. You will find the following information: location of the U.S. Embassy or Consulate in the subject country, unusual immigration practices, health conditions, minor political disturbances, unusual currency and entry regulations, crime and security information, and drug penalties.

Virtual Tourist
http://www.vtourist.com
Provides tourist information from first-hand visitors who have traveled and documented their trips on these pages. Currency, time zone, and metric converters included.

SUBJECT HEADINGS
top

camp sites, facilities, etc.—Canada—directories
camp sites, facilities, etc.—United States—directories
Chicago--guidebooks
children--travel
family recreation
hotels—guidebooks
hotels—pictorial works
Michigan--guidebooks
travel
United States—description and travel
United States—guidebooks

RELATED RESEARCH GUIDES
top

Community Resources


last updated: July 24, 2008
http://www.parchmentlibrary.org
Questions or comments about this website: webmaster@parchmentlibrary.org