Get a Library Card
If you live in our district
Not sure if you live in our district?
Check our Street Index for your address.
Live in Cooper's Landing Apartments?
Check our map to see if you are in the Plainwell or Parchment library district.
To be eligible for a free library card with the Parchment Community Library as your "home" library, you must be a resident of, or own property within, the Parchment School District. The library is not part of the school system, but our boundaries are the same.
If you are 18 years old or older, you must present a valid photo ID (a Michigan driver license or Michigan ID) with your current name and current address on it.
If your name has changed or if you have just moved and don't have your new address on your license yet, bring in a recent piece of mail with your current name and address on it. We recommend you update your license as soon as possible.
If you are 17 years old or younger, you must have your parent or guardian with you when you sign up for a library card. Your parent must present his or her driver license (or proof of residence) when you apply for a library card. You may apply for a Limited Juvenile card instead without a parent's co-signature, which will allow you to borrow two books at a time.
If you do not reside within our district, but own property here, please bring both your driver license or Michigan ID and your most recent property tax receipt.
If you don't live in our district
If you live within the Kalamazoo, Otsego, Plainwell or Portage library districts, and have a library card from your home library, you may obtain a free "reciprocal" card from us. Bring in both your home library card and your drivers license or Michigan ID when you apply for a reciprocal card.
If you live within the district of a participating MiLibraryCard library (which includes many of the public libraries in Michigan), you may obtain a free "reciprocal" card from us. Bring in both your library card and your drivers license or Michigan ID when you apply for a reciprocal card. Click here to see a list of participating MiLibraryCard libraries.
If you are age 65 or better, you may receive a free "Senior" card from us. You don't need to present a home library card, but please bring in your drivers license or Michigan ID as proof of age and address.
If you are a teacher within the Parchment School District, you may apply for a special Teacher's Card which may be used only for curriculum-related materials. Please bring in your drivers license or Michigan ID. We encourage Parchment teachers who live outside the library district to consider applying for a reciprocal borrower's card.
If you are a non-resident and cannot obtain a reciprocal borrower's, Michicard, senior, or teacher's card, you may purchase a non-resident card for $105 per year.
Use Your Library Card
All items not listed below - 4 weeks, 2 renewals
New Books - 2 weeks, 1 renewal
Graphic Novels – 2 weeks, 1 renewal
DVDs – 1 week, 1 renewal, limit 4 per card
Items may be renewed by telephone, e-mail, in person or through the online catalog. Unless they are on hold for someone else, all items may be renewed up to two times except New Books, Graphic Novels and DVDs, which may be renewed once.
A reserve may be placed on library materials by telephone, e-mail, in person or through the online catalog. The patron will be notified when the reserve becomes available and must pick it up within three days.
The fine for all library materials, except DVDs and juvenile books, is $0.10 per library business day. The fine for DVDs is $0.50 per library business day. The fine for juvenile books is $0.05 per library business day. The maximum fine for all library materials is $5.00 per item.
There is a 7-day grace period for most library materials. There is a 1-day grace period for DVDs. No fine will be assessed if the item is returned within the grace period.
Borrowing privileges are suspended if fines in the amount of more than $10.00 accumulate or if there are overdue items for which statements have been sent.
The first overdue notice will be mailed when an item is 2 weeks overdue. If the item is not returned, a second overdue notice will be mailed when the item is 4 weeks overdue.
If the item cannot be found, the replacement cost of the item, plus a $5.00 processing fee, must be paid.
If the item is not returned (or the replacement cost & processing fee paid) within 14 days of the second notice, the overdue account may be sent to a collection agency.
If sent to a collection agency, the overdue account will be assessed an additional $10.00 fee.